Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Flavorful filling but you need to par-cook the vegies first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight. Very good. It was a little time consuming, but worth the effort.I left out the potatoes, but added peas. I would think you could use whatever veggies you wanted or had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hubbard, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Wonderful recipe. I made it exactly how it is written except I forgot to add the potatoes. It tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
My husband says that this dish deserves a 4 star rating and that's pretty good for him! Now, I did use a store bought crust...only because I can't make a crust to save my life! Also, I added mixed veggies and some different spices. I NEVER cook without garlic. We love it! So I added some garlic and parsley. Along with some onion powder because I happened to be out of onions. I thought it was great! I will definitely make this again. I do think that I will add some soup base to give it more chicken flavor. I like things that are very flavorful. I may add some poultry seasoning next time as well. Overall though...pretty great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULY2501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This makes the best pot pie I have ever had! I use a frozen pie shell and a refrigerated crust for the top. It is so flaky and tender and the filling is so good I think about it for days. I have made this twice now and think that I would like to try it with beef. Substituting the chicken stock with beef and the chicken with left over pot roast or stew meat. I don't use celery in this recipe as I tend to pick up a sour flavor, but that's just me as I find that whenever I have celery that's been cooked. And I LOVE the addition of the mushrooms! Thank you for posting this recipe, it is the only one I will use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr.Gazer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This gave me a good starting point. I made a lot of changes. No onions, or mushrooms. Used red potatoes, baby carrots and peas. I pre cooked everything. I also brushed the crust with egg whites. I also made enough filling and crust for 2 pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This recipe is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
What a GREAT recipe! Thanks so much! Since we keep Kosher in the house, I actually changed the recipe a bit to keep it kosher and keep it healthy at the same time. I used Empire Kosher chicken, kosher chicken consumme, smart balance (parve) butter, and pre-frozen pie crusts made with vegetable oil instead of lard. As recommended I also cooked the vegetables in the chicken consumme, and it came out perfect. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This was *delicious*. I followed the recommendations from BAMBARBIE and L Sacher. I used a crust recipe from Joy of Cooking, which was actually very close to the one in this recipe, but didn't really roll out very well... maybe it needed more time to chill? Regardless, it ended up being very tasty & flaky. I pre-baked the crusts for a few minutes and brushed on egg whites to the insides of the base and both sides of the top. I omitted the mushrooms (my own preference), added a little bit more onion to the roux, steamed the carrots and celery, and boiled the potatoes in the broth for ~6 minutes. I also used bouillon cubes to make the broth. I agree, the filling this recipe makes could fill 2 pies... not a bad thing, though! I made a pie, 3 tiny pies in a muffin tin, and froze the rest of the filling. Quite a few modifications are necessary to improve the recipe... but a good base recipe nonetheless! Chicken pot pie at its finest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by She-Ra
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I didn't use the filling but the crust is really good. I did use half butter and half shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by She-Ra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States