Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This recipe is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
What a GREAT recipe! Thanks so much! Since we keep Kosher in the house, I actually changed the recipe a bit to keep it kosher and keep it healthy at the same time. I used Empire Kosher chicken, kosher chicken consumme, smart balance (parve) butter, and pre-frozen pie crusts made with vegetable oil instead of lard. As recommended I also cooked the vegetables in the chicken consumme, and it came out perfect. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This was *delicious*. I followed the recommendations from BAMBARBIE and L Sacher. I used a crust recipe from Joy of Cooking, which was actually very close to the one in this recipe, but didn't really roll out very well... maybe it needed more time to chill? Regardless, it ended up being very tasty & flaky. I pre-baked the crusts for a few minutes and brushed on egg whites to the insides of the base and both sides of the top. I omitted the mushrooms (my own preference), added a little bit more onion to the roux, steamed the carrots and celery, and boiled the potatoes in the broth for ~6 minutes. I also used bouillon cubes to make the broth. I agree, the filling this recipe makes could fill 2 pies... not a bad thing, though! I made a pie, 3 tiny pies in a muffin tin, and froze the rest of the filling. Quite a few modifications are necessary to improve the recipe... but a good base recipe nonetheless! Chicken pot pie at its finest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by She-Ra
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I didn't use the filling but the crust is really good. I did use half butter and half shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by She-Ra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Excellent. I didn't find it to be as good warmed up as leftovers. Best first time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Great recipe. I used the Pillsbury crust. I cooked my chicken breasts for about 10 minutes in a mixture of vegetable broth and chicken broth and then added the carrots and potatoes and cooked for an additional 5-7 minutes, like another reviewer suggested. I then removed the chicken and veggies from the broth and then added it to the butter/flour mixture (added some water to bring it to 3 cups of fluid). I omitted the celery. I had enough filling for 2 pies. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINGYV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
The family loved it! No left overs. Very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Tried the pastry, but wished I'd used my own recipe,instead used tenderflake deep dish frozen crusts, sauteed the mushrooms in garlic butter, simmered chicken breasts in the stock for 10 min and diced potatoes and carrots for 5 min. Sauteed the onion and celery and continued on with this great recipe. Also put the piecrusts in oven while preheating for 5 min, then brushed with egg white; all of this from others great reviews. I have made many chicken pot pies for my family who loves them and this one got the best praise, thank you swizzlesticks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was very delicious! I took the advice of a few others and boiled the chicken in 1/2 of the stock that it calls for (10minutes) then i added the potatoes & carrots & boiled another 5min. I made sure they were still firm but not raw. I prepared everything else the same with the only other exception of the onion, I never keep onion in our house due to the fact that my hubby hates it so i sprinkled in a tiny bit of dried onion and that worked just as well. I also followed the advise of a review on the egg white wash on the crust...turned out beautifully! This is another that will be in our meal rotation menu :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Since I was short on time, I did not make the pie crust, I used store bought. As per other reviewers, I softened up the carrots and potatoes some so they would not come out too crunchy, and they ended up with just enough tooth to them. I did not have mushrooms, so I added corn to make up for it, and I used red potatoes instead of russets. I also added garlic powder and poultry seasoning, and I really enjoyed the additional flavor it gave! Overall, a good recipe I can use for a base! Very creamy, very hearty, very stick-to-your-ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States