Chicken Pot Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I am not the best cook, I cooked this using deep dish crust from the grocery, and the whole family of picky eaters really love it. Awesome, and finger licking good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Whitehouse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I love this recipe, I use carrots, potatoes & onions rather than green beans. And bake it 15 to 20 minutes longer to make sure the crust is nice & flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
very good. I sugest you double the recipe and freeze one pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I used butter flavored Crisco for the shortening and the crust was pefect. As for the filling, I always do my own thing when it comes to seasoning and it would have been a little bland if I hadn't. This recipe still deserves 5 stars because of the awesome crust and because it is a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I'm giving it 5 stars, even though I did make a few changes. I made up 8 individual pies, served four and froze four. I used powdered onion and added 1/4 tsp sea salt to dough. For the filling, I made my own gravy with chicken stock and the liquid from the canned mushrooms. I skipped the green beans, added carrots and one chopped potato (I parboiled them), but may add peas to my next batch, which I will be making soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
this was great! I ended up with some corn, carrots and green beans in mine. Wonderful, kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was a total hit. My Fiancee who eats anything but his kids are super picky eaters.. They loved this!!!!! I did make some adjustments.. I only used Adobo for the salt in the crust. 1/2 tablespoon. I think the cream of soup has enough salt. I added any vegetable in the fridge. Broccoli, corn, string beans, carrots and peas. And no shortening in the rest of the recipe, just used nonstick spray. Thanx a million. This will be in heavy rotation in our kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foody320

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
i mixed and matched from this recipe and chicken pot pie II. when i cooked the chicken i used 1 can of chicken broth rather than water and when i mixed the celery and onions i used 1 can of chicken gravy and some of the broth. i did have problems with the crust. the recipe that it calls for only made one (1) pie crust rather than two. otherwise it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I've never made a pastry dough or a pot pie! I made this and we 100% love this! It was fantastic. Took others suggestions and added spices. To the spice mixture we added 1/4 t of Italian Seasonings & 1/4t of Mrs Dash Garlic & Herb Seasonings. Also, while chicken cubes were frying I sprinkled chicken with salt. Omitted the Onion & replaced with 1/4t Onion Powder. Let it cook about 5 min. each side. Replaced the beans with 1 can drained corn. I made the dough a couple times because I thought it was rather dry & maybe I did something wrong. Anyhow, it was hard to roll out, it was brittle & wasn't working like a dough. I got it to work by using it as is & I am glad I did. Placed it in my 9" glass pie dish. Baked it with the ingr. inside covered with the Top Dough & made slits. It was done in 24 min. It was phenomenal! This whole pie is exactly what I was looking for today! A quick and easy lunch that was really made in minutes. The thing that was a little bit of time was the pie crust and I am glad I made it, even my picky husband said it was wonderful and flaky and tasted awesome. Yes, he said awesome! He also said this was the best Chicken Pot Pie he ever had! He finished it off in a couple days & asked me to make it every week! Great! I will make this often, although not weekly! UPDATE: Made this again & again, now I pre-chilled the shortening for 1hr first. Also, roll out dough between 2 sheets of wax paper. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anabela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was my first try at a pot pie but I did make a few changes... I didn't water down my condensed soup.. but I did mix a package of country gravy with the water amount said on package (2 cups I think) and added that when I added the soup.. it thickend up great and added a really really great sauce to it... I also used frozen carrots and corn.. it was super good and I love it... I have used the crust with other fillings now and it is just perfect and simple.. its nice and flaky.. I love it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superdyna-o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States