Chicken Pot Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
ok... gave this recipe 4 stars cause that seems to be the general consensus, but i actually haven't made it yet... you see, i'm pregnant and only a couple of weeks away from my due date, looking for some recipes that i can make ahead and freeze for the week after the baby comes. this looks good, but being rather a novice cook, i need some advice. you make it like it says then freeze instead of baking? then do you bake it from frozen or what?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
it was good I changed it a little. I added potatoes and mushrooms and corn instead of green beans it turned out really good and the family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Everyone here loved it. The dough was hard to work with though. Think I'll try a diffrent dough next time. When we were eating dinner last night my son asked when I was gonna make this again! That's a first. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellie81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Wayland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This was the worst pie crust dough I have ever tried to work with. It was so hard to roll out that I would never make this dough again. The filling recipe definitely needs more spices too. Next time I will try a different pot pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was my first try at a pot pie but I did make a few changes... I didn't water down my condensed soup.. but I did mix a package of country gravy with the water amount said on package (2 cups I think) and added that when I added the soup.. it thickend up great and added a really really great sauce to it... I also used frozen carrots and corn.. it was super good and I love it... I have used the crust with other fillings now and it is just perfect and simple.. its nice and flaky.. I love it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superdyna-o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I've never made a pastry dough or a pot pie! I made this and we 100% love this! It was fantastic. Took others suggestions and added spices. To the spice mixture we added 1/4 t of Italian Seasonings & 1/4t of Mrs Dash Garlic & Herb Seasonings. Also, while chicken cubes were frying I sprinkled chicken with salt. Omitted the Onion & replaced with 1/4t Onion Powder. Let it cook about 5 min. each side. Replaced the beans with 1 can drained corn. I made the dough a couple times because I thought it was rather dry & maybe I did something wrong. Anyhow, it was hard to roll out, it was brittle & wasn't working like a dough. I got it to work by using it as is & I am glad I did. Placed it in my 9" glass pie dish. Baked it with the ingr. inside covered with the Top Dough & made slits. It was done in 24 min. It was phenomenal! This whole pie is exactly what I was looking for today! A quick and easy lunch that was really made in minutes. The thing that was a little bit of time was the pie crust and I am glad I made it, even my picky husband said it was wonderful and flaky and tasted awesome. Yes, he said awesome! He also said this was the best Chicken Pot Pie he ever had! He finished it off in a couple days & asked me to make it every week! Great! I will make this often, although not weekly! UPDATE: Made this again & again, now I pre-chilled the shortening for 1hr first. Also, roll out dough between 2 sheets of wax paper. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anabela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
i mixed and matched from this recipe and chicken pot pie II. when i cooked the chicken i used 1 can of chicken broth rather than water and when i mixed the celery and onions i used 1 can of chicken gravy and some of the broth. i did have problems with the crust. the recipe that it calls for only made one (1) pie crust rather than two. otherwise it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was a total hit. My Fiancee who eats anything but his kids are super picky eaters.. They loved this!!!!! I did make some adjustments.. I only used Adobo for the salt in the crust. 1/2 tablespoon. I think the cream of soup has enough salt. I added any vegetable in the fridge. Broccoli, corn, string beans, carrots and peas. And no shortening in the rest of the recipe, just used nonstick spray. Thanx a million. This will be in heavy rotation in our kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foody320

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. I changed it a bit by adding some thyme and sage in addition to the oregano, and omitted the onion salt (because i didn't have any) and the sugar (because it sounded odd). I put green beans, corn, and carrots in it, and it turned out great. Definitely a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astacy12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
this was great! I ended up with some corn, carrots and green beans in mine. Wonderful, kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States