Chicken Pot Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Ok I admit that I didn't make the homemade crust (did the frozen kind). I did make it following everything except I had a wierd idea to add a jar chicken gravy. It turned out wonderful and my hubby bragged so I'd say this is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I love this recipe, I use carrots, potatoes & onions rather than green beans. And bake it 15 to 20 minutes longer to make sure the crust is nice & flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I've never made a pastry dough or a pot pie! I made this and we 100% love this! It was fantastic. Took others suggestions and added spices. To the spice mixture we added 1/4 t of Italian Seasonings & 1/4t of Mrs Dash Garlic & Herb Seasonings. Also, while chicken cubes were frying I sprinkled chicken with salt. Omitted the Onion & replaced with 1/4t Onion Powder. Let it cook about 5 min. each side. Replaced the beans with 1 can drained corn. I made the dough a couple times because I thought it was rather dry & maybe I did something wrong. Anyhow, it was hard to roll out, it was brittle & wasn't working like a dough. I got it to work by using it as is & I am glad I did. Placed it in my 9" glass pie dish. Baked it with the ingr. inside covered with the Top Dough & made slits. It was done in 24 min. It was phenomenal! This whole pie is exactly what I was looking for today! A quick and easy lunch that was really made in minutes. The thing that was a little bit of time was the pie crust and I am glad I made it, even my picky husband said it was wonderful and flaky and tasted awesome. Yes, he said awesome! He also said this was the best Chicken Pot Pie he ever had! He finished it off in a couple days & asked me to make it every week! Great! I will make this often, although not weekly! UPDATE: Made this again & again, now I pre-chilled the shortening for 1hr first. Also, roll out dough between 2 sheets of wax paper. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anabela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I substituted homemade chicken gravy for the soup and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I am not the best cook, I cooked this using deep dish crust from the grocery, and the whole family of picky eaters really love it. Awesome, and finger licking good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Whitehouse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
i mixed and matched from this recipe and chicken pot pie II. when i cooked the chicken i used 1 can of chicken broth rather than water and when i mixed the celery and onions i used 1 can of chicken gravy and some of the broth. i did have problems with the crust. the recipe that it calls for only made one (1) pie crust rather than two. otherwise it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
i made this once before and it is excellent i however did modify it a little i took the advice of others and added some other spice garlic and funny but i took a packet of seasoning mix from creamy chicken ramen noodles and sprinkled that in my dough and on the chicken when cooking this was excellent finally i used chicken broth instead of water and it is a nice meal for a cold winter day! UPDATE im making this again right now going to use all the same subs so ill be back to fill you in but im sure its gonna be good thanks for a great recipeUPDATE I have made this a regular around my house everyone loves it i even got my friends and family hooked its the best my hubby took one to work for the guys and now they are begging me all the time for another ! great job with this one although i do agree the dough is a little hard to work with its worth it it just doesnt taste the same without it. i add a can of carrots in with mine too love love love thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
very good. I sugest you double the recipe and freeze one pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
so easy to make...love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
it is okay but a bit bland and a bit to runny, add extra flour to the mixture to make thinner, also dont use all the liquid it is too much. add lots more spices too like puoltry seasoning, onion powder, pepper, and salt. dont go to crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Star

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States