Chicken Pot Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by danigurrl
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Very good. I changed the recipe slightly. I made a double batch for 2 pot pies. I cut the chicken into strips then pan fried it in light olive oil and seasoned it with thyme and Italian seasoning before cutting it into cubes. I also don't care for the strong taste of onions, so I sliced up a medium size Leek and sautéed it with a tablespoon of butter and a dash of black pepper in a small sauce pan. For veggies I used potatoes and a can of sweet corn. I used 2 cans of cream of chicken soup and 1 can of cream of mushroom. Lastly, I added about ½ cup of Almond Milk (or you could use any type of cow’s milk or even soy, I just has almond milk on hand) to make it a little creamier. I also added an additional teaspoon of thyme into the mixture. I used the 2 pie crusts, one of the bottom of the pan and one covering the mixture, brushed with beaten egg to make it golden brown. I kept the rest of the recipe the same with the cheeses, cooking times, etc. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danigurrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Photo by ladygrenadine
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
was really yummy! I ended up with extra filling so I made some mini pies to freeze! followed the recipe almost exactly and was totally impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladygrenadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
AWESOME. Best chicken pot pie I've ever made. I used this recipe as a starting point and added more to it - my pot pie ended up as a "kitchen sink" pot pie. I added hot sausage and red & green bell peppers to the chicken and other veggies... The result was scrumptious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I have found my permanent chicken pot pie recipe! Everyone really liked this. I cut up the chicken before boiling it and added extra seasonings after draining off the water. I also only used half of the cheese, and it had plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This is comfort! I have made it several times to give to new mom's and the like. They always like it. Something you can freeze and cook later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1craftycook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This recipe was simple and tasted delicious!! I changed it up by using fresh veggies like corn, peas, carrots and broccoli and made 3 individual (mini bread loaf size) pot pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jayne
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Love this pot pie - no need for me to look any further. I usually double this recipe, using only one crust (bottom) and topping it with cheese instead of the other crust - great way to make one for us/someone else who may need a dinner (new mom, etc.) I add Italian seasoning and a few dashs of garlic powder, omit mushrooms if I don't have any onhand. Using rotisserie chicken makes this incredibly tasty - going to try it with canned chicken for ease (and will always have ingredients onhand if that works out.) Effortless and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Delicious! I have made this twice and loved it both time! It is very easy to make. To cut down on time, I buy a cooked rotisserie chicken and just add it to the mix. Next time I will add potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kateshreds
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Amazing. Absolutely amazing. So cheesy! My husband and I LOVE this! He is always begging me to bake this and it is pretty quick and easy! I substitute cheddar cheese soup for the mushroom soup, were not a big fan of mushrooms. Sooo delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateshreds

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Lake, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States