Chicken Pot Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Definately a winner!!! Everything was great, I did make some changes. I took the advice of others and added double the cream soup and double the broth...a must (just don't double anything else except the flour). I think I might prefer it just a tad bit thicker but it was excellent! I also added freshly sliced mushrooms and two cups of cheddar cheese. Will definately make again! Will of course make PLENTY of more crust, I made a huge pie and didn't have enough for top and bottom after doubling the crust recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
This was a very good potpie! I made 2 to freeze and we decided to keep it out and eat potpie for 3 days instead. I made it in a pieplate also so just increased the dough recipe as someone suggested (by 4 to have top and bottom crusts for both pies). I doublesifted the dough ingredients rather than just mixing in order to better distribute the sage. I also made the cream of chicken/flour mixture in a big bowl and added the spices and cooked chicken first, and then the vegetables. Also with a 9 inch pie plate there were some extra vegetables left over. Personally I would cut down the carrots or potatoes and keep the frozen vegetables. Broccoli is a good choice for this meal. My mix had frozen soybeans in it and they were good too. I took the suggestion to add cheese - I used parmesan, and it added a nice subtle flavor. I will definitely make this again. Note: this meal is a fairly big time commitment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
Wow...this was really good! I did read the reviews before I made this so I added 2 cans of crm of chkn soup and cut the potatoes down to one cup. This was nice and creamy and did not get dry at all. I *really* liked the crust on this...worth the extra effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
Comfort food at its best! I rubbed about 1 lb. of chicken breasts lightly with olive oil and seasoned them with salt, pepper and a pinch of rosemary before roasting. It yielded a little more than 2 cups once it was cooked and cubed. I cooked the onions and garlic with a little bit of butter (instead of cooking spray) for more flavor. The crust takes no time at all to prepare, and it's definitely worth spending the 5 minutes it takes to throw it together. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
WOW this was a hit. My entire family gobbled it up! No left overs what so ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa1313

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Good basic recipe to build on. The crust is pretty easy to work with (though I had to add more milk to keep it pliable). For the people who thought this wasn't creamy enough: try adding just 1 can of soup, a bit of milk, and mash up some of the potatoes - that gives a creamy mouth feel without overwhelming the taste of all the other ingredients with condensed soup. I just boiled potatoes in their skins until past fork-soft, cooled them, then pulled them apart with my fingers and with a knife - which leaves behind some mashed portions and small bits of skin that contrasts well with the softer parts of the pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
OH MY GOD!!!! My husband and I ate the ENTIRE thing in one sitting. We like the adition of 1 1/2 cups of cheese. We also use brocoloi, carrot, and cauliflower as our frozen veggie mix. FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Decently tasty, but took over an hour and a half to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wathgwen
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I basically followed the recipe. It does need some additional liquid, so I would add about 1/2 to 3/4 cup more chicken stock next time. I also think a chicken bouillon cube would add to the flavor and maybe add the sage to the chicken mixture instead of to the crust. I had to add a little more milk to the crust, too. But overall, this was a good recipe. My husband and I ate about half of it and have the other half for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
the recipe didn't allow for enough doe, add about 25%
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States