Chicken Pot Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I have been making this for a few years now, and it is a wonderful recipe. The only change I make is to double the crust recipe because I like more crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Colorado, USA
Living In: Berthoud, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Good basic recipe to build on. The crust is pretty easy to work with (though I had to add more milk to keep it pliable). For the people who thought this wasn't creamy enough: try adding just 1 can of soup, a bit of milk, and mash up some of the potatoes - that gives a creamy mouth feel without overwhelming the taste of all the other ingredients with condensed soup. I just boiled potatoes in their skins until past fork-soft, cooled them, then pulled them apart with my fingers and with a knife - which leaves behind some mashed portions and small bits of skin that contrasts well with the softer parts of the pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
First, let me say I rarely give a 5 star. That is for "Thank God for this Food!". That said, we rated this a three. But to be fair, I followed the repeated recommendations to double the broth & soup and it came out a little runny for us. Average flavor, not great but not bad. Also, it was flavorful, but a flavor that slightly detracted from it overall. I'll try some other Pot Pies to see how they compare. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I'm not too keen on this one. It tastes like nothing special... like those frozen chicken pies I buy from the local supermarket. I prefer lots of pastry, so I'd prefer eating a pie made out of crust rather than a pot-pie like this one made in a casserole dish with just a layer of pie crust over the top of the dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
I had to add another can of chicken broth and I should have added another can of Cream Of chicken becuase it was too dry. Next time I will skip the thyme since I didn't care much for that tast. Otherwise it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
This recipe is pretty good, but I had to make some modifications. I had to add more broth and another can of cream of chicken, then I ended up adding some milk to make it creamy. Otherwise I'm afraid it would've been too dry. I used a pre-made refrigerated pie crust, too; much easier! But this is still a pretty good chicken pot pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Definately a winner!!! Everything was great, I did make some changes. I took the advice of others and added double the cream soup and double the broth...a must (just don't double anything else except the flour). I think I might prefer it just a tad bit thicker but it was excellent! I also added freshly sliced mushrooms and two cups of cheddar cheese. Will definately make again! Will of course make PLENTY of more crust, I made a huge pie and didn't have enough for top and bottom after doubling the crust recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I've made this twice now, once as the original recipe states and the second with my own adjustments and others suggestions. I've rated this a 4, going on the original recipe because it did taste pretty good, but here is what I changed to make it just that little bit nicer. I doubled the soup, as well as making it chicken and mushroom soup instead of just chicken. I also increased the broth, along with the potato. The second time I made this I thought I'd just put it in a pie shell, but forgot I didn't have any, so I ended up making it without a shell of any sort and had like a casserole/stew thing. It was real nice this way but I think I'd prefer the pastry. Anyway this seems to be delicious, no matter what changes I feel like making to it, and my bf really enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This is the best chicken pot pie I've ever tasted. My husband loved it so much he told some of his friends that it was the best he'd ever tasted too. He loved it so much he two heaping helping and took some for work the next day. Thanks so much for such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I did increase the soup and chicken broth. I also doubled the recipe and froze one. It froze/cooked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States