Chicken Pot Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Definately a winner!!! Everything was great, I did make some changes. I took the advice of others and added double the cream soup and double the broth...a must (just don't double anything else except the flour). I think I might prefer it just a tad bit thicker but it was excellent! I also added freshly sliced mushrooms and two cups of cheddar cheese. Will definately make again! Will of course make PLENTY of more crust, I made a huge pie and didn't have enough for top and bottom after doubling the crust recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
This was a very good potpie! I made 2 to freeze and we decided to keep it out and eat potpie for 3 days instead. I made it in a pieplate also so just increased the dough recipe as someone suggested (by 4 to have top and bottom crusts for both pies). I doublesifted the dough ingredients rather than just mixing in order to better distribute the sage. I also made the cream of chicken/flour mixture in a big bowl and added the spices and cooked chicken first, and then the vegetables. Also with a 9 inch pie plate there were some extra vegetables left over. Personally I would cut down the carrots or potatoes and keep the frozen vegetables. Broccoli is a good choice for this meal. My mix had frozen soybeans in it and they were good too. I took the suggestion to add cheese - I used parmesan, and it added a nice subtle flavor. I will definitely make this again. Note: this meal is a fairly big time commitment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
Wow...this was really good! I did read the reviews before I made this so I added 2 cans of crm of chkn soup and cut the potatoes down to one cup. This was nice and creamy and did not get dry at all. I *really* liked the crust on this...worth the extra effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
Comfort food at its best! I rubbed about 1 lb. of chicken breasts lightly with olive oil and seasoned them with salt, pepper and a pinch of rosemary before roasting. It yielded a little more than 2 cups once it was cooked and cubed. I cooked the onions and garlic with a little bit of butter (instead of cooking spray) for more flavor. The crust takes no time at all to prepare, and it's definitely worth spending the 5 minutes it takes to throw it together. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
WOW this was a hit. My entire family gobbled it up! No left overs what so ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa1313

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
OH MY GOD!!!! My husband and I ate the ENTIRE thing in one sitting. We like the adition of 1 1/2 cups of cheese. We also use brocoloi, carrot, and cauliflower as our frozen veggie mix. FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Good basic recipe to build on. The crust is pretty easy to work with (though I had to add more milk to keep it pliable). For the people who thought this wasn't creamy enough: try adding just 1 can of soup, a bit of milk, and mash up some of the potatoes - that gives a creamy mouth feel without overwhelming the taste of all the other ingredients with condensed soup. I just boiled potatoes in their skins until past fork-soft, cooled them, then pulled them apart with my fingers and with a knife - which leaves behind some mashed portions and small bits of skin that contrasts well with the softer parts of the pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Decently tasty, but took over an hour and a half to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wathgwen
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I basically followed the recipe. It does need some additional liquid, so I would add about 1/2 to 3/4 cup more chicken stock next time. I also think a chicken bouillon cube would add to the flavor and maybe add the sage to the chicken mixture instead of to the crust. I had to add a little more milk to the crust, too. But overall, this was a good recipe. My husband and I ate about half of it and have the other half for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
the recipe didn't allow for enough doe, add about 25%
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States