Chicken Pot Pie Soup with Toasted Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Absolutely excellent! Only difference, I put the pastry at the bottom of the bowl before the soup went in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This recipe went over very well in our house. I did tweak it a little for health reasons; I used a cholesterol friendly option in place of butter and used another tbs of flour in the paste, and skim milk instead of cream. I skipped the almonds too and served it over biscuits. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Made this almost as written- no major changes and it was deliscious. I left out the mushrooms ( the guys wont eat em..) and parboiled some fresh carrots since I did not have frozen ones. I did roll a pie crust out flat and bake it till golden, and added pieces of that to the bowl since the crust is always the best part to me! WIll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Good! I think I still prefer the thick and creamy real pot pie but this was very simple to make. It def warmed our bellies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
easy and tastes great, I added roesemary, thyme, celery salt and fresh mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Made this recipe for the *RECIPE GROUP* it was delicious!!! :) I loved it soooooo much! Will be making it again- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Just realized I made this way back and never rated it. I remember it being Deeelicious! It really does taste like a pot pie! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I like the touch of the almonds, but this was pretty bland for our tastes. My only change was to use fresh sauteed mushrooms instead of canned...oh and I served with homemade biscuits instead of pastry shells. I think this really needs onions and perhaps a touch of garlic with plenty of black pepper, too. I would also prefer a more veggies...corn and broccoli would be a good start for me. It's a good base recipe, and I would make again with changes to suit our preferences. I also would omit the chicken base, i think...not really crazy about that flavor. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States