Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Followed recipe exactly except simmered onion, celery and chicken in chicken broth rather than water. I made home made pie crust and this recipe was amazingly good!! I will make again! Five stars all the way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Yum!!! I used the veggies, but added frozen veggies too. Plus I added sage, rosemary and parsley for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I subbed out the pea for jalapeno and added pepperjack cheese as a layer between the chicken and the chicken soup. I also didn't use the celery seed but it turned out phenomenally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex Kimball

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss~Muffin
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Excellent! Made recipe tonight and it was fantastic! Just 1/4 cup more broth and approximately 1tbs less flour. I also used poultry seasoning and garlic salt in the roux! Just amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss~Muffin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RFalgout
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I've made it twice so far. I made it unchanged the first time. It was very good. The next time I used rotisserie chicken, a bag of fresh frozen veggies, added fresh sliced mushrooms, garlic, cubed red potato and a little thyme, tarragon and creole seasoning. After sautéing the onions, garlic and mushrooms in the butter, I made the sauce and added everything to the skillet then poured all into the prebaked pie shell bottom. It was fantastic. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Quick, easy recipe. Started and five; serving at six. I sauteed the celery with the onions and chopped in a bunch of mushrooms. I also used only a top crust, making it significantly lighter in fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
USING ALL THE OTHER REVIEWS I MADE THESE CHANGES. I USED BEEF LEFTOVER FROM A CROCKPOT ROAST. USED PARSNIPS IN PLACE OF CARROTS. WILL USE CARROTS AND PARSNIPS NEXT TIME. WILL USE MORE ONION FOR MY FAMILY'S LIKES. I MADE MY OWN BROTH WITH BOULLION CUBES. USED PHYLLO DOUGH WITH OLIVE OIL AND GARLIC SPRAY BETWEEN THE LAYERS OF PHYLLO DOUGH. THIS WAS SIMPLY SCRUMPTIOUS. LOVED THE MOANING AT DINNER. THE CELERY SEED IS A MUST IN MY OPINION. I DIDNT DOUBLE THE CELERY SEEDS ONLY USED THE AMOUNT CALLED FOR IN ORIGINAL RECIPE. SO GLAD THIS WAS POSTED AND SO GLAD I READ ALL THE REVIEWS TO GET A FULL PICTURE OF THE MANY WAYS YU CAN PUT IT TO USE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This pot pie is quick and easy. Instead of pie crust, I used a biscuit dough on top. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly except for the pie crust since I used puff pastry instead. It turned out lovely! Just the right amount of salt, the flavors blended together, and there was plenty of sauce. This isn't for the novice cook as there is a bit of cooking knowledge needed to make this correctly (i.e. mixing the salt, pepper, and celery seed together with the flour, whisking the "roux" while cooking it for at least 1-2 minutes, knowing when to stop cooking your sauce on the stovetop so it doesn't get too thick, etc.). To each his own, but I personally did not feel the need to change a thing about this recipe. Homemade (or even semi-homemade) foods aren't going to have the same texture or taste as chemical- and sodium- laden frozen foods or fast foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soundsbrite
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This recipie is so easy and so delicious. I read thru the comments and doubled up on the "gravy" and added potatoes, garlic & cayenne. I'm not a big salt fan, so my family added more to their taste. There was enough mixture to make two mini pies for lunch. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 6,507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States