Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I followed other reviewer's suggestions of precooking the veggies (I used diced raw potatoes, frozen asparagus, frozen diced red peppers, frozen baby carrots, frozen peas and frozen green beans). I sauteed a 1/2 cup of diced celery with 3/4 cup of chopped onion in the butter. Instead of making one large pot pie, I made 4 single serving size pot pies. I used more broth so that the pie filling wouldn't be dry. I also brushed the top crusts with egg white before baking the pies for 20 minutes at 425F. After 20 minutes of baking time, I covered the pot pies with foil and baked them for another 10 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This is delicious. I did not discard the water that the chicken and vegetables cooked in. Instead, I drained the cooking liquid through a colander into a bowl so I could use it for the broth. I even threw in some celery tops with leaves for added flavor (which I did discard after boiling). I then dissolved a chicken bouillon cube in the broth. I peeled and cut up a medium red potato and cooked with the chicken/vegs. I added 1 tsp. of poultry seasoning with the other spices. You do want to let this sit for 10 minutes after cooking because it's messy when removed from dish. I didn't find it dry at all like others did. It was a thick liquid filling as it should be. If you have leftovers, they're not messy at all. A lot of the liquid must get absorbed into the crusts when it's refrigerated. I wonder how it would be with some dry sherry added with the broth and milk (maybe 1/4 or 1/2 cup dry sherry, cutting back the broth to 1-1/2 or 1-1/4 cups, respectively)? I use sherry in my chicken and dumplings with delicious results, so I imagine it would also be good here. I may try that for kicks next time, but it's delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I made this recipe in 4 small mini pies. Then I froze before baking. When ready bake at 425 for 55 mins. The pies are so good. I'm very pleased. Maybe go easy on the veggies and slightly strain before putting into crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loni Cassen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I could not believe how easy this was to make. I used a homemade crust and homemade vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I made this according to the recipe except I had to substitute 2 diced potatoes for the celery and I used the broth from boiling the chicken and veggies to mix with Better Than Bouillon for the chicken broth. I'm adding this to my recipe book! It was fantastic! I used the Basic Flaky Pie Crust (doubled) and for that recipe I had to substitute 1/2 of the flour with just-add-water pancake mix and butter for the shortening. I'll do it that was every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Very good recipe I made a few modifications. I boil my chicken breasts with celery tops onion and garlic, s&p and use the broth created for this recipe. I also use a bag of frozen veg no need to cook before hand. I layer the cubed chicken, frozen veggies sprinkle with s&p and then pour the gravy on top. I always have enough gravy and I even use a deep pie dish. The only other suggestion would be more salt to the gravy, I just keep tasting until it tastes right. One more thing.. it always turns out better with a homemade pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Landice Acosta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I make the individual ones and freeze them! Perfect for us Empty Nesters! Just take two out to start defrosting the day before and put in fridge. Bake as directed. And I've made this exactly as the recipe is written. LOVE IT!!! Tweaking to add other ingredients works well too! If adding potatoe be aware it does absorb some juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I will use 1 tsp of salt next time. Other than that, perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I made pot pie for the first time tonight, and it was amazing!!! I did change a couple of things. I boiled the chicken and the vegetables together and added a couple cubes of chicken bouillon (I use Knorr from the latin food section because it has more flavor) then used that as the broth. I did not add the seasoning to until the gravy was thick and I could taste it since the broth was already flavored. I seasoned it to taste with some salt, pepper, as well as Goya Adobo. I also mixed the chicken and vegetables and gravy together before going on the crust. I followed the advice from others and baked it at 275 for 40 minutes with an egg glaze. Results were really great!!! Can't wait to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I have made this recipe a few times and will continue to make it for a very long time. My family absolutely loves it! We have kids ranging from 2 to 11 and everyone enjoys it. That's hard to do!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 6,320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States