Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Great, quick meal. Easy to throw your own touch's on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Cash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I followed others and added potatoes to the recipe. In addition, instead of making the liquid mixture, I used Glico's Japanese curry as the sauce. I simply boiled the chicken and vegetables, drain them (but kept the hot liquid) and melted the curry in the liquid. I made sure that everything is cooled before putting the filling and sauce onto the pie crust. It also helps to pre-bake the bottom crust for 3-5 mins to prevent the crust from being soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ellis
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I did a different sort of thing but 425 ended up being way too high so I suggest if you use a different pie crust, do it at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This recipe is amazing!!! I made it with homemade pie crust and it was soooooo tasty! Had to have 3rds of it! My Dad said it was the best chicken pot pie he ever had and my Mom wants it for her birthday! I 100% recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefbenjamin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coldwater, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe!! I have made it 3 times and each time it was very successful (taste, appearance, easy). I make 8-10 and end up freezing 6 of them for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Loved it! I was so impressed that it came out of MY kitchen, too! I LOVE chicken pot pies and used to eat them all the time as a kid (until I realized how much fat was in them!). I altered just a couple things in this recipe for dietary reasons, but tried to stay true to the recipe because I cannot compromise flavor: I used a cup's measurement for all boiling veggies (that was unintentional, but good!) 2 Tbsp of butter instead of 1/3 cup. I didn't have celery seed, so I used celery salt. White pepper instead of black for visual reasons. 2% milk instead of whole milk. And finally, instead of pie crust, I used phyllo dough. To do this I poured the chicken mixture directly into the pie dish, then topped with the liquid mixture. I unrolled a roll of phyllo dough and spritzed each sheet with spray margarine before I scrunched it and placed it on top of the filling. I repeated that step until scrunches of phyllo covered the top. I tried to leave no openings so that it wouldn't bubble over. Baked it for the same time (30 min), and the top was golden brown, the filling was bubbly, and it looked oh so good! Spoon it out and you are good to go! **With the leftover celery and carrots, I chopped them up and portioned into ziploc bags and stuck in the freezer to be ready for the NEXT time I make this! Mmm! Mmm! Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
It was really easy to make and super tasty. I added sliced portabella mushrooms and it really made it spectacular. I didn't however, boil the veggies with the chicken and opted to sauté them all instead with a cover on the pot to steam the veggies until soft. Also used a homemade crust which is also on here and it was awesome with it! Thank You for sharing this recipe! I will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Awesome recipe but double the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I made this last night and it was fabulous. I modified it to be vegan (sub almond milk, vegan butter, veg stock and homemade seitan instead of chicken) but other than that (haha) followed the recipe exactly. I do wish I would have doubled the sauce as other reviewers suggested because it was so delicious but I don't know how it all would have fit into the pie shell! Maybe make extra sauce and pour on top?.......Just reheated and it really dried out. Wish I would have doubled the sauce to put on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Make it as is, Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 6,288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States