Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Tasted awesome, definitely going into my regular recipe box. I accidentally used one can of beef broth and I think it actually made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I made this last night without the celery or celery seed. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I thought it was a decent starter recipe. I mostly followed the recipe as written. I did not boil the peas with the chicken and other veggies, because I think that would cook them more than I like (I hate mushy peas), and instead of cubing the chicken, I boiled two whole breasts, and then shredded them afterward. I like the consistency of shredded chicken better. I didn't have any fresh onions on hand, so I just melted the butter and made my roux, adding 1 tsp of onion powder. Added the peas to the chicken and veggies as I was shredding the meat. Everything else went as directed. I thought there was plenty of sauce and I liked the consistency of the pie. But I think it's kind of bland. I will hang on to this recipe, but next time, I will make sure to have fresh onion on hand, and saute some fresh garlic along with it, and add either some bouillon or some poultry seasoning to the gravy. Maybe some more black pepper and salt, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Monique richie-lewis
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I changed a few things. I boiled the chicken with knorr chicken bouillon and used that along with half and half for the cream sauce. No seasoning necessary if you add 2-3 tblsp of knorr to the water you boil the chicken in. I also added some crumbled pancetta I had left over from another dish I made. I also added more liquid to the mixture as I hate dry pot pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I followed this as is because I was looking for a quick Chicken Pot Pie. I didn't have milk so I used half & half and added my frozen peas just before I put on my top crust (Pillsbury roll-out). I also added 1/2 teaspoon each of onion and garlic powder. My husband told me he really couldn't tell the difference between this recipe and the one that I usually prepare that takes so long....thanks honey! I will have to say that it made just the right amount, no leftovers. I guess I'll be fixing this one more often and I'll save my own recipe for company in the winter time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
One of my kids favorite. Same basic ingredients but I just do it differently. I boil a whole chicken saving the broth. I boil my carrots and potatoes. Debone and clean chicken. Make gravy using broth and cans of cream of chicken soup. Add chopped onion and can of peas. Add chopped celery and chicken. Last half hour or So add potatoes and carrots. Salt and pepper to taste. My kids prefer it over rice. Chicken pot pie without the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Sick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Yes I did make changes. Instead of chicken broth and milk I used a chicken gravy mix cutting time in half and pre baked the bottom crust for 8 minutes. I added a little more of the veggies and skipped the flour since the gravy mix is already thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Have made this many times with leftover turkey or chicken. I usually double the sauce. Saute onions & celery in butter until soft; sprinkle with flour, add seasonings, chicken broth, carrots, small cubed potatoes, cook until done, adding frozen peas the last few minutes. Make a roux of equal parts butter and flour, then add milk. Cook until thickened, then add to chicken-vegetable mixture. Cool. Use refrigerated roll out crusts. I made individual pot pies and a 2 crust packet will make 3 pot pies, top and bottom. Bake bottom crust (that is pricked) at 350 degrees until lightly browned, add ingredients, add top crust; crimp and slit top in 3 places. I then freeze individual pies on a cookie sheet. After frozen, wrap in freezer paper, freezer bags. You can either bake frozen or thaw in refrigerator and then bake. Thawed takes about 40-45 minutes. Frozen about 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brandon, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Have used this for years and it's easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Popp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Best tasting chicken pot pie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 6,798) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States