Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Both the wife and I had seconds! It was very tasty. Also very easy to prepare especially if you use frozen pie crusts. The wife doesn't like peas so I used corn instead. Definitely on our future menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Delicious! Next time I would increase broth and milk a bit to make it a bit more saucy. I didn't have celery seed and just minced the celery tops instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
It was pretty tasty. I made my own pastry and added chopped jalapeño , garlic and caraway seed. I made it with extra sauce and i baked it in a deep dish / casserole dish. It was nice and saucy . My kids ate it and said it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rali_orion
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
liked it, tasted like your classic chicken pot pie. I added 1/2 tsp extra pepper, 1/2 tbsp garlic powder and 1/2 tsp Herbs de Provence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I made my own pastry, but this filling was perfect. I honestly think its a waste to drain the broth you make in step two. Plus i didnt have peas, but if i did i wouldve used em for step three. I think its pointless to boil your chicken in premade broth.. it will make its own and itll be sooo good if u add the carrots and spare onions (toss onions, dont use for recipe). I believe i added more broth when i made it since a lot of reviews said it was dry.. to be honest i never liked chicken pot pie because i only ever had the chance to try those gross frozen ones. But my man loooves them so i wanted to make him some homemade ones. Well my man, my mom, my kids and MYself tore them up. I didnt use celery seed, but im sure i added a lil minced garlic. I definitely recommend this to anyone. Easy, simple and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I agree with others not to boil the veggies. I cooked them about 15 minutes with a dab of butter abpnd aboit 1/2 c chicken broth. Great flavour for a from scratch recipe. June 2015. Needs just a bit more moisture, increase milk a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
When I tried this recipe the first time it was...okay. This time I browned the chicken in a pan with a bit of oil, then removed. Then I placed the carrots,onions, and celery with a bit of butter in the same pan and caramelized them, then added the butter and flour to make the roux took it too the blonde stage, then after that I added chicken stock (its so easy to make why buy). Seasoned to taste and finished as directed. This turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teddi Cahoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
We loved it!! Perfect comfort food. We aren't "pea" people so I increased the carrots and celery to make up for the peas. We doubled the sauce and used as much as what would fit in the pie and the remaining we used to pour over as we served. Came out perfect exactly as stated in the recipe otherwise!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Only modification I made was to some spices: a little rosemary, thyme and Indian spices for kick. I thought it came out great and everyone else said they loved it, too. Will def try again. Thanks to OP and other reviewers:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Made this recipe to the letter. It turned out to be the most ugly, absolutely delicious recipe I have made. Made a hit with the family. My ugly mistake was the top crust. It was too warm and fell apart when I tried laying it on top. So it ended up in random pieces, thus. UGLY. Next time, and there will be a next time, I will chill the top crust just a little before handling. Great recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 6,815) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States