Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I LOVE IT!!!! I used 1 can of cream of chicken soup instead of chicken broth and my family ate it up. Using the pie crusts gave it a wonderful flakey taste as well. My family will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Onawa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I was surprised my husband liked this. I've made this a few times and the first time, I followed the recipe. The other times, I did a crustless version by using smaller containers and added a croissant to the top. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Very good traditional pie. I used an entire rotisserie chicken instead of baking the chicken. And I assembled it slightly differently: to the butter I added the onions, celery, carrots to soften, then added the flour & liquids as called for in the directions. After it had thickened, I added some peas, 2 peeled/cubed russet potatoes, and green beans. Lastly I added all the chicken into the mixture to combine, then poured it all into the pie shell. Turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdietrichson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made 3 today. I added potatoes to the recipe. It came out awesome. I could not sleep so I heated up a slice. Great late night snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Never made anything like this before. So I bit the bullet and followed the directions to the T. My husband loved it : ) The sauce is what makes it to me. Thank you for this Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This was absolutely the best pot pie ever. I baked a chicken in the oven a day ahead and used the meat from that. It made all the difference in the world. the chicken was so tender. I also cooked my carrots, celery, onions, and added potatoes. I boiled them in better than bullion (chicken) until almost tender. I used the broth from the veggies for the sauce. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharmayne Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Amazing! Tasted so much better than the one I usually make with cream of chicken soup. Now to learn how to make a pie crust from scratch so this can be even more homemade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I do them in individual pans 6x2.2x2 and I use store bought pizza dough rolled out and one ball of dough does 4 pie bases and lids. It's much better and cheaper than using the pie crust ready rolls. I've found the ready made pie crusts absorb too much water from the pies and make them dry. I change the recipe slightly by adding garlic to the onions when browning them off and Italian seasoning to the mixture. Ot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
It needs more seasoning, like garlic, pepper, maybe poultry seasoning. It's very good even without; just a bit bland. I'm surprised that other reviewers felt they needed to double the liquid. I achieved more than enough thickened liquid to fill the pan. I had a bit leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Potter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I'm not a fan of pot pies period - bad childhood memories. Lol. Anyway, my husband is and I got tired of buying them so I ventured out to make my own. What a treat! This recipe was so easy. I followed most of it by using organic veggies. I added the stems from the carrots just for more flavor and garlic paste. The addition of the poultry seasoning as suggested by some was perfect. I was opted for wheat flour instead of white. Tasting as you go along makes all the difference in the world. I had left over filling which I will put over some rice with a side of veggies for another meal later in the week. Little to no salt was needed because the seasonings from the rotisserie chicken was perfect. This will be a staple in our home for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 6,729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States