Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This is great, as is. It's spectacular with mushrooms, and/or diced potatoes. The one thing I do differently, regardless, is to mix veggies/chicken together with gravy before pouring into crust to incorporate everything first. Everyone in my family loves this. I also use the cooking liquid as my broth.... why waste it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Cloutier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Wow! We all loved this :-) I fixed the filling in the crock pot all day to make life easier. This is now a regular on our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Angola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Delicious! I used onion salt (instead of plain salt) and poultry seasoning in my pie crust. I also added a cubed potato and increased the milk in the chicken filling. I used a deep dish ceramic pie plate so it held all of the filling perfectly. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I always use this recipe as a base for my chicken pot pie! I make homemade whole wheat crusts and substitute whole wheat flour for the white flour in the pie recipe. I also increase the chicken broth to about 2C and the milk to 1C. I add some garlic while sautéing the onions. The recipe fits perfectly into 6 mini oval Fiestaware casserole dishes. It's delicious and so worth making homemade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I love this recipe. I just made it last night and have eaten the leftovers for lunch too! I followed the suggestions left by other reviewers and boiled the chicken and veggies in the chicken broth and I add about 1/2 c water, enough to fully cover in liquid. When I make the roux for the gravy I also add about 2 cloves of minced garlic. The next time I make this I'm going to try mixing the chicken & veggies with the gravy then pour in the pie shell rather than doing it separately. I feel it doesn't incorporate as well as I'd like and I also make a mess doing it as written. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
PERFECT! YUMMY! DELICIOUS! I have celiac disease and had been looking for a good pot pie that doesn't contain cream of chicken soup b/c that has gluten. This one fit the bill! I loved it. I took everyone's advice and doubled the liquid part. I omitted all things celery related b/c I hate celery and added some canned potatoes b/c I love that. I used a gluten free pie crust and the whole thing was amazing. Make this, you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I pre baked my bottom crust for 6 mins and added 1/4 c and 1/4 milk more than it called for. It made enough filling to fill both crusts so I made two pot pies and covered the tops with crescent dough omg was it good!!!!! I also used chicken stock instead of water to boil chicken and veg I then strained it and used that broth for the "gravy" it was very flavorful ,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelley
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This recipe is awesome my family lover it! I made a couple changes I omitted the peas and celery and added potatoes and a little broccoli. I made 4 individual pot pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This was really delicious. Using tips from other reviewers, I boiled diced fresh carrots, frozen peas and diced fresh potatoes in 2c. low salt/low fat chicken broth for about 10 mins. I then drained and saved the broth for inside the pie. I needed to add to it to get back to 1 3/4c. called for in the recipe. Sautéed the onions with celery in only 4T butter which worked fine in this recipe. I used 2c. leftover diced chicken. Added 1T. dried parsley instead of celery seed. I also only used a top crust. Baked at 375 degrees for 40 minutes. Scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 6,752) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States