Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I have made this chicken pot pie numerous times now. I leave out the celery only because no one in my family likes it (including me), otherwise I make it as called and it never disappoints (unless of course I burn the crust).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by XioMARA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I added fresh chopped garlic and parmigiano reggiano cheese...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Very good. I would like to try it with just a little more seasoning next time. And I will because this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Delicious! I used 2 c frozen peas/carrots mixed, 2 ribs of celery and added 2 small potates. I did boil these but not my chicken. I sauteed my onions in the butter with 2 cloves of garlic and then added the cubed chicken that I'd seasoned with salt, pepper, creole seasoning and garlic powder. After the chicken was lightly browned, I removed the chicken leaving as much of the butter and onions as possible. I then made the gravy as directed. After draining the veggies I added salt and pepper then mixed with the chicken and then added all to the gravy before putting into a deep dish pie shell. Without mixing like that, the sauce was just sitting on top of the other ingredients. The pie came out perfectly seasoned and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This was great! Used 2 cups of chicken broth and. 1 cup milk. Cooked on 375 for 45 minutes and it was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
followed recipe exactly as written. it was very good, but the chicken was boiled for too long. next time I will boil the chicken separately, and certainly not for 15 minutes. it was a little dry, but still had a very good flavor. my kids loved it, so that's a win in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Iles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OddChef
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Excellent with changes. I added some cubed radish, a clove of fresh garlic, I used red onion, I simmered the chicken with Rosemary and thyme, reserved the liquid as broth. And I used my grandmother's secret best pie crust recipe. Did not seem dry to me, but I added some semi-frozen vegetables to the mix instead of cooking fresh with the chicken. They imparted more moisture, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Sauteed Celery, Onion and carrots in olive oil, butter and seasonings.Cut up 1 1/2 chicken breast into chunks and cooked on stove. Doubled the filling, put in 6 oz ramekins and covered with puff pastry. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by Elizabeth Hansson
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
With the following changes this pot pie was the best I've ever tasted! 1. I increased the sauce/gravy by 50%, including the onions. 2. Instead of boiling the chicken and vegetables, I cooked and seasoned them separately. I sauteed the chicken with olive oil ad garlic until cooked through. Let the breasts cool for 10 minutes & then chop up into tiny bite-sized pieces and set aside, covered. For the vegetables, I sauteed them in a little butter and a few seasonings (garlic pepper, garlic salt, for instance) until partially softened. Use olive oil if you want healthier. Carrots take longer to soften than the peas and celery, so I start them first. Of course, the onions are not included in this step because the onions are used in the sauce preparation. Frozen chopped vegetables help speed things along, too. 3. I added some additional spices to the gravy, such as garlic pepper (the recipe could use more pepper anyway), garlic salt, poultry seasoning (only a bit, 1/2 tsp?, as poultry seasoning is a strong flavor that will really change the flavor of the sauce!). 4. I pre-cook with bottom pie shell (after brushing with egg white) for 6 minutes at 350 prior to adding filling. 5. I mix the gravy with the chicken mixture prior to dumping onto the bottom pie crust. I do save about 1/4 of the gravy to pour on top of chicken mixture though. 6. Finally, I brush the top pie shell with egg white before baking. And I keep the egdes covered with a edge protector for first half of baking time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 6,803) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States