Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This is so delicious. My family absolutely loved it - even my picky eater. I was worried about one pie feeding 4 people but there was plenty for my husband, two teenage boys and me with some left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
So delicious! Perfect for a rainy Saturday! I did a few things different: I sautéed the chicken in olive oil with some poultry seasoning and salt and pepper. I steamed the carrots, celery and peas and then added about 1 1/2cups frozen hash browns for the last 2 minutes. I melted one stick of butter and sautéed the onion till soft. I doubled all the other sauce ingredients. Then added the veggie mixture and the chicken. The hash browns made this absolutely amazing and so filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
LOVE it! I followed the recipe more or less verbatim, but instead of boiling the chicken I baked it in the oven and cooked the rest of the ingredients together in a large skillet, adding the chicken at the end. Don't bother boiling the carrots or celery, if you saute them with the onions they'll finish cooking just fine in the oven. I also added garlic and greek spice mix. Turned out absolutely perfect. I also used a buttercrust (1 stick butter YES one whole stick, 2c flour, pinch salt and sugar, about 1/4c cold water) and it was pure heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmeliaBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Delicious!! My wife and daughter loved it! Only change I made was to add some mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Bomb.Diggity! This was a slam dunk in our house. I followed the advice of another poster and doubled the sauce and all ingredients in it. Once the sauce was complete I folded it in with the chicken mixture and then scooped into individual dishes with crust. Only thing I may do differently next time is add in some potatoes and make my own crust. We served it with a spring salad, with granny smith apples and craisins, drizzled with olive oil and green apple balsamic vinegar. Perfect comfort food on this rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great recipe - followed the suggestions from the various reviews and used cream of chicken soup instead of water. Was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Chicken pot pie is the ultimate comfort food. Anything with pie crust gets my attention. I used Marie Callender's pie crust and followed the recipe as is. My husband hmmm'd his way through dinner. I will definitely be making this again. It is hearty and the two of us got three meals out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
OMG! This recipe is easy to follow, and delicious - without modifications. I used Roundy's frozen pie crusts which turned out flaky. Good bye Marie Callender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was the most flavorful pot pie I have ever made. A new favorite! I only changed a few things. First, I boiled everything in chicken stock. I set aside the stock while straining & added about 2 1/2 cups of the stock to the pie before I put the gravy on. I also added about 4 small potatoes with the other veggies. Best dish I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I followed reviewers' suggestions and doubled the sauce, but threw half of it away because it would not fit in the dish. I'm guessing I used about 1/2 lb of chicken, but added 4 small potatoes, so the sauce ratio should not have been affected much by my using less chicken. I did season the chicken and veggies as they boiled. My chicken and veggie mixture filled somewhere around 2/3 to 3/4 of my 3 quart dish. I also added garlic powder to the sauce. I poured as much of the doubled sauce into the dish as possible, but only about half would fit. Instead of using a store bought crust, I mixed 1 cup of flour, 2/3 cup melted butter, and 1/2 cup of milk and spooned it out across the dish. The crust was really my favorite part, but I did like this recipe's homemade sauce instead of using canned cream of chicken. Even with only one recipe of the sauce, it was very saucy and not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 6,196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States