Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
As I was pouring the sauce in, I realized that it might be better if I would have mixed the chicken and vegetables with the sauce in a mixing bowl to make sure the sauce was evenly distributed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Blackburn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I followed most of your advice PLUS 1/2 cup of white wine. Knocked it out of the park! Such a lovely light flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Followed recipe exactly and it came out perfect! Even my picky 11 year old liked it. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shak
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I just loved, loved this recipe. SOoo yummy : p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by PamEik
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Tripled the recipe, made a pot pie for dinner the first day and hand pies for lunches for the week. I use the King Arthur Flour all butter pie crust ( always delicious). I cooked the meat and veggers in stock and then drained and reused it for the sauce. I added potatoes, because I like them. Photo of hand pies--they were a hit with teenagers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annah
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I actually only loved this recipe after I changed it quite a bit after some other suggestions. I ended up changing the mounts to make two pie pans because it's too good for just one pan! Here's what I did (which is a little more specific than some other posts). 1.85 lbs chicken, 1 c sliced/quartered carrots, 1 1/2 c frozen peas, 1 1/2 c frozen corn, 1 c sliced celery, bouillon cubes: make the same as directed in original post. 1/2 c butter, 1/2 c chopped onion, 1/2 cup all purpose flour, about 4 c broth, 3/4 tsp salt, 3/4 tsp black pepper, 3/4 tsp ground cumin, 1/2 tsp italian seasoning, 1 3/4 c broth, 1 1/2 c milk: make the same as directed in original post. Continue preparing as directed. I baked at 375 degrees for 40 minutes. You don't have to, but I buttered the crust and stuck it back in for 4 minutes for extra browning. Let cool for 10 minutes. This is my first time making this and it turned out perfect. My family tore through it. Next time I will make my own crust because I am partial to home made and the pillsbury is a little sweet (since it's for desserts), but it still works out great if you don't feel like making your own roll out crust. Tip: if you're worried about making the exact amount of gravy mix to cover perfectly, feel free to double the gravy recipe and spoon out until the chicken mixture is covered. You can always use the left over gravy for other recipes since it really is just a chicken based gravy. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I don't understand how anyone can say this is bland. I LOVE this recipe. Of course, I do save the chicken stock made from boiling it with the veggies. And I add some bouillion to the mix, so maybe that adds enough flavor it keep it from being bland? I mean, if you tossed away that stock (heaven forbid!) and used some kind of crappy broth, then yeah--it'll be bland. But who would actually do that? :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Takiyah
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Delicious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 19brad79
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Good stuff. I strayed from the instructions a little, but I definitely give the recipe credit. I used Grandma Ruth's pie crust recipe from this site ( at least I think that's it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I made a few changes and it was amazing! I bought a grocery store rotisserie chicken and frozen mixed veggies which made this way faster. I also added real chicken broth. Make sure to not let your gravy get to thick so that it can seep through the pie filler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,515) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States