Chicken Pot Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was just OK. The sauce was tasty when I was making it. I added some extra black pepper and a bit more chicken flavored powder. But after cooking, the sauce was pretty bland. I'm guessing it just wasn't flavorful enough to stand up to all that chicken and vegetables soaking up the flavors. I did, however, very much like the idea of using the leftover water I cooked my chicken in + milk to make up my chicken broth for the sauce, and I thank you very much for that trick! I will probably go back to Chicken Pot Pie IX from this site next time. By the way, this feeds more than 4 people. It feeds probably closer to 6 people assuming a couple people gets seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This is such a fantastic recipe! The sauce is perfect and everything cooks up well together and is great even as leftovers. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABigham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
NOW THIS WAS AMAZING!!!! I did however add some roasted garlic, used two pie shells and potato but it was so awesome that my husband wanted to have the leftovers for lunch the next day. And it was still delicous!!! I put a pie shell on the bottom and one of the top to make it more like an actual pie. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Husband loves this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Made this for dinner tonight Im giving this a 5 star rating no changes needed in this recipe it was awsome ty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cperez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
My husband has been asking me to make a pot pie for some time now. I was relunctant to make one because I thought I would mess it up but I came across this recipe and it is definitely a keeper! After reading some of the other reviews, I decided to add potatoes to the filling. I was able to fill two deep dish pie crusts with this recipe. I couldn't have expected a better dish, especially with this being my first attempt ever at making a pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I have to agree with those who said this is restaurant quality. My 9 year-old is very fussy, and when he took his first bite, his eyes closed in bliss. By the time he was done (with a clean plate!), he declared, "Mom, you have GOT to make this again!" My 14 year-old will eat nearly anything, but he was in complete agreement with his little brother. "That was the best food I've eaten all week!" he told me, and he had just had a cake made by my friend, whose house is popular because her food is SO fabulous. I might try adding the potato next time or making the crust from scratch (or Bisquick as another reviewer suggested), but even without changes, this was SPOT ON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This actually did taste homemade & I was very pleased. My picky husband tried to eat the entire pan! I added some thinly cut carrots, 1 diced potato(zapped it for about 2 mins in the microwave to soften it),& a little bit of onion. I added a bay leaf in the broth as the chicken was poaching & added poultry seasoning to the entire filling. I used 2 pie crusts, one for the bottom & one for the top. Oh I used a 9x13 pan. Next time will make individuals for different variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Puryear, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
My husband loved it and wants me to make it again. I found it to be a bit bland though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This is an awesome chicken pot pie recipe, and I've tried A LOT! I didn't have any celery or mixed veggies, but it still turned out DELISH! I used a crust for the top and bottom. . . I used a basic pie crust recipe, added a little more butter/shortening so it would knead thin, added dried parsley and onion powder to the crust mix. I used some left over baked chicken I had from the night before, therefore I omitted the salt and pepper since the chicken was already seasoned. I used frozen corn, canned green beans and added mushrooms. I used 2% milk, and added sage and rosemary along with the thyme. For those of you who are getting a "watery" filling. . . make certain you are cooking the filling long enough for it to thicken. . . my filling came out superb using a lower fat milk (who needs the extra calories? lol) I will definately be making this again with fresh vegetables and celery!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIELTTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States