Chicken Pot Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Really really nice, I also used Bisquick for the top and it was lovely. I made enough for 3 pot pies and popped 2 into the freezer for later. I added everything I could think of, did a quick saute of the onion, garlic and celery and them made the roux, not quite enough for us so next time I will make double. Even nicer that it didn't have soup in it and way way better than the store bought ones. Thank you Corwynn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
My husband LOVED this chicken pot pie!!! I just used the frozen vegies I had in my freezer. It is way better than the canned soup version!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Excellent recipe, I've only made chicken pot pie once before, 8 years ago. That recipe had called for tarragon and I loved it so I also added 1tsp tarragon here for a gourmet tasty chicken pie filling! Used a cup of whipping cream and 1/2 cup milk instead and didn't use any frozen vegetables just fresh and chopped. Very Tasty! I also did not use this with a pie crust but made the "Touch of Honey Biscuits" to dip in it instead. So could use this for pie filling or as a chunky thick creamy chicken stew...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlogAlotAliCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Absolutely delicious. I made a couple of small changes though. I added a couple of tablespoons of olive oil to the onions, after putting the flour in, because they seemed dry. I also added more seasoning than specified, including sage and fresh oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This was not bad. Made a few changes. cooked cut up chicken in Olive Oil and then added 1 cup chicken broth to simmer. Used one 10oz package of mixed frozen veggies. Also baked it in a pie shell. Put a Pillsbury Pie crust in a pie plate, pierced with fork a few times and baked at 350 for 7mins....then added all ingredients from recipe onto the baked crust and added another pie crust on top. Baked in oven for 30mins. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
tasty and easy to prepare. I used the "Basic Flaky Pie Crust" recipe and a mix of leftover steamed fresh veggies instead of frozen, including some diced potatoes which help thicken the sauce. And if I don't have time to prepare the whole shebang in one shot, I prepare the filling, pour it into the casserole dish, cover and refrigerate it until I'm ready to bake it. Ditto for the pie crust. Then I just need to roll out the crust, plop it on the filling, and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
great recipe. I only added potoato and garlic. I made individual pies for the family and it went over pretty well. This will be my go to pot pie filling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I don't know how you give 4.5, but that's what I'd give this. It's a wonderful "base" for what I ended up doing. I added more of the herbs... and other things as well; like granulated garlic, sage, some of chicken broth powder (instead of salt) I had frozen leftover turkey breast that was waiting for just the right recipe. I added potatoes and green beans on top of what's called for. I used someone's idea of Bisquick on top because it just made it so simple. I put parsley in that. Man, we both thought it was to die for. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Napanee, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
If you're looking for an all-American traditional chicken pot pie, this is the one. It was very easy and tasty. I would only recommend that a pan be placed underneath to catch drippings. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Delicious! We both loved it...I made it in pie shells instead of a casserole dish, and had to make 2 pies with this recipe! So that's 4 pie shells, 2 bottoms and 2 tops. Instead of 2 cups of frozen vegetables I boiled a sliced carrot and a sliced potato for a few minutes, then added frozen peas and frozen corn to make up just over 2 cups. And we didn't have enough leftover chicken to make a pound and a half, but I had about 2 cups of cooked chicken, and that was enough. Very good flavor, go easy on the thyme, though. And of course, my man eats it with ketchup, cuz it tastes better that way! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States