Chicken Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Let me start by saying, "I don't like Chicken Pot Pie". However I cook for my family and they do, but as I have never made it they have been suffering the frozen store bought pie's for years. Well I bit the bullet and decided to give this recipe a shot, I had some leftover roast chicken from yesterdays dinner which was enough for 2 pies, so I doubled everything up, used frozen mixed veg, and herbed chicken soup, also did as others have "Blind Baked" the lower crust for 10 minutes. Outcome, well my family were over the moon with this, so it will be a keeper, my wife and mother in law both said it was the best they had ever eaten. Me, well I still don't like it, but I am gratefull for this easy recipe to feed my family and keep them happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I've made this twice and twice my family left absolutely no leftovers. I used the refridgerated ready to use dough for faster prep. I did use 2 cans of cream soup to make it creamier as well as chicken gravy in place of milk, either way works though. I tried the canned veggies and then tried fresh which i prefered more. I also chopped raw chicken, browned it lightly, then made the pie, letting the pie cook slower. This allowed the pie to brown nice and even and didn't overcook the chicken as I found precooked chicken became too dry when used in this receipe.Also added italian seasoning for a flavor boost. Will continue to make this on a regular basis. Easy and tastes wonerful! Easy to modify to fit your family's preferences which is a major bonus in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delhi, New York, USA
Living In: Oneonta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I made my own home made pie crust the best thing about making pot pie you can change it up I added potatoes carrots and green beans I also added homemade chicken stock and I cooked the chicken in stock not water it was juicy and really good will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Easy, quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Haven, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Douglas Mason
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Sometimes I add a can of mushroom pieces. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Douglas Mason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightsville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hephzibah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Very easy and very yummy! I am going to try substituting Cream of Potato soup next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I used the frozen bag & Mrs Dash (thanks MATUCKER), wife seriously didn't believe I made it, thought I bought it. GREAT, SIMPLE & EASY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
A nicely simple concept and easily altered to taste. I prefer less carrots and peas, so I put in frozen broccoli and cauliflower instead. Also I love Cream of Celery soup so I combined half a can of that with the Cream of Chicken soup. I mixed all that together in a bowl and added a healthy dose of black pepper. It's fabulous and easy to make. Also, I shred my chicken instead of dicing it. Makes it smoother to mix with the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Merkel, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
OMGoodness! this was the best tasting pot pie I have ever had. When I cooked my chicken, I seasoned it with celery salt and I used boneless chicken thighs instead of chicken breast. This was a quick and very easy recipe. I didn't need to change the recipe at all!! It was LOVED by all..even my 15 month old son!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Love how easy this is to make. I use cream of potato soup instead of chicken because I think the potato is more hearty. I also just get rotisserie chicken and use the leftovers for sandwiches. To cut back on fat, I only use a pie crust on top, but make sure to put a baking dish underneath to catch any "spillover"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States