Chicken Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was wonderful. Easy quick recipe that was a hit with all. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Great chicken pot pie recipe. I used frozen mixed vegies, cooked them for a few minutes with the chicken as it was boiling. Then drained them and diced the chicken. I mixed this with 2 cans of soup, one cream of chicken and one cream of celery. I added a 1/4 cup of milk, 1/4 tsp pepper, 1/4 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp parsley. It makes enough for 2 pies. I put one in a frozen pie crust and one with Pillsbury crescent rolls formed to fit the bottom of a pie plate and the points brought up to meet at the top. Cooked the one with Pillsbury crescent roll dough at 375 for 30 minutes and the other for 45 minutes. I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Very bland recipe - if you steam the chicken with a little bit of water/chicken bouillon, garlic, onion, pepper, thyme, rosemary, sage, basil and fennel, you have a great start. I advise using fresh or frozen veggies to eliminate all the sodium that is in canned veggies. With that said, you have a wonderful dish that was worth the extra effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa J Morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
My family loves my chicken pot pie recipe. I use 2 cans of cream of chicken with herb soup and 1 bag of frozen mixed vegetables.with the chicken. You can add chopped celery for texture. I heat all the ingredients before putting it in the pie shell so it heats up faster. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This came out really good! I followed the recipe except I made it with rotissarie chicken, frozen veggies and 2 cans of Cream of Celery and 1 can of Cream of Chicken...It had tons of flavor...will definitely make this again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I have to say that I am growing weary of the number of 'recipes' that are little more than opening a few cans and adding some meat. I rated this 'list of instructions' as a 2-star so that I wouldn't throw off the average rating too much, but honestly, combining canned vegetables with a can of condensed soup and some boiled chicken sounds disgusting, and I certainly don't need to look up a recipe on the internet to throw it together. At least use fresh veggies, chicken stock, some onion, celery and carrots, add some spices, and wine. I simply don't understand how a recipe like this can get so many rave reviews... if you have to change the recipe to make it palatable, then its your recipe that deserves the accolades, not the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Sheppard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was great! Even though I consider myself a good cook, I, too, always keep a few cans of soup (cream of celery, chicken) on hand for just this kinda thing, to whip something up, especially leftovers, in a hurry, throw it in the oven and forget about it. Great way to use leftover potatoes, carrots, just about anything. The only thing I changed was to add a lot more seasoning cuz I luv it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I really loved just how simple this recipe really was. I'm 5 mo pregnant right now so anything I can whip together that's tasty is appreciated. This was perfect! I kept to the recipe except I used chicken tenderloins instead of the breast b/c they cook up faster and pulled the chicken apart rather than dicing it. Then before I added it with the veggies, I mixed the chicken around in McCormick's season all seasoned salt. It was just the right touch. I also cooked it at 400 for only about 30 min and it came out golden brown and perfectly flakey. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This almost exactly how I have made my chicken pot pie for years and it is one of my husband's favorites. I make this almost every time I have left over chicken. I add 1 can of Cream of Potato soup, because my husband loves extra potatoes. I warm the filling ingredients in a saucepan before I pour it into the pie crust. I know it is an extra pan to wash, but it seems to bake the crust better if the filling starts out warm. I add some season salt, garlic powder and onion powder or onion flakes to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Made it last night. This was a great recipe and will definitely make again and again. So glad I signed up to get these daily recipes. Read a ton of other reviews before attempting to make it as directed (always recommend you do this). I had just purchased the Ronco Rotisserie & BBQ Oven and made a a chicken on Sunday so I used the meat from this. Then used 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can of cream of celery; 1/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup chicken stock; 2T of white wine and some garlic and onion powder, fresh ground black pepper, dried Thyme and Marajom (sp)...these spices I just eyeballed vs. measure 1/4-1/2 tsp each. Put all those ingredients on stove and simmered to mix. Bought already made store brand pie crusts in refridgerator section at grocery store. While sauce was simmering took 1st crust and put on bottom and placed into preheated 350 oven for 8-10 min. Thawed some frozen corn and peas and added them to sauce along w/chicken that i basically just tore w/my hands. When 1st crust was done put the filling in and covered with 2nd crust. Put 4 vents in top and baked for 30 min. Also did egg wash per other viewers. Was really yummy and made a lot. Try it and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States