Chicken Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This is the greatest! Made it first as printed, then as others, started tweaking it to our tastes. Used 2 cups precooked chicken chunks, sauteed 1 lg. onion, 1 rib celery and 8oz. fresh mushrooms in 2T. butter till tender. Added 12 oz. steam in bag mixed veggies (steamed) 1/8 cup white wine, 1 can cr. of chicken soup, 1/2 can milk, cajun seasonings, and 4 oz. shredded sharp cheddar. This filled my very deep dish pie dish. Used Pillsbury refrig. crusts (no pre baking) Put it on a cookie sheet and baked @400*F for approx. 30-40 min till well browned. Scrumptious!! This has been a great company dish for me - always raves! Also making it right now for us - hubby loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
The family ate it up. I had to sub one can of mixed vegs with can of peas and carrots and also had to sub cream of chicken soup with cream of celery and I added a little poultry seasoning. Filling was a little dry so next time I will add a little milk to the mixture before putting it in the piecrust. All in all, it was a good dish and will add it to my dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I really like this recipe. I use the Pillsbury refrigerated crusts; I've tried store brand but they seem drier and harder to manipulate. I have found success using leftover turkey breast and discovered this recipe looking for something in which to use leftover holiday turkey. I like it better with turkey than with stewed chicken breasts. I use a bag of frozen mixed vegetables without potatoes...I find the "soup mix" veggies to have way too many potatoes and they taste weird. As suggested by someone else, I do boil the frozen vegetables with one bouillon cube until warm and then drain. I actually like to use one fresh potato cubed and boiled in the microwave, rinsed and added to the mix. It's just enough potato. Like many people here, I use two cans of soup. I like to use Campbell's cream of chicken with herbs soup. It adds a good amount of flavor without having to gauge how much marjoram or whatever else is needed to perk it up. The soup provides enough sodium for my taste. I do not add milk. It makes good leftovers and reheats well in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
So good and fast! I followed the directions, but altered the measurements a bit and ended up with 2 very full pies. I used approx. 2 cups diced chicken, 1 cup each steamed broccoli and cauliflower, 1 cup each frozen corn and peas, 2 cans of soup, and 1 soup can full of milk. I had to bake it about 50 minutes to brown the crust. I may consider baking it at 400 next time in the hopes of cutting down on the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I love your recipe, as others have done I also tweaked it a little. I use organic frozen vegetables, and substitute milk with water, since the condensed soup is usually salty and already contains a creamy consistency. In addition, I season the chicken breast while they cook and let my husband chop the chicken in to fine shredded pieces, add just a pinch of pepper and garlic. Oh one important tip, I bake the bottom crust for 15 minutes before adding the sauce, this way the bottom does not taste like a dumpling, it's more flaky. Delicious. Thank you for sharing, this is now my go to Sunday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
made this many times, used frozen vegies instead of canned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsheets911

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I changed a few things ... used two cans of soup ... cream of chicken and cream of celery ... added lots of spices. Sautéed onions and mushrooms in butter ... added to mixture ... it turned out GREAT except for one thing??? I used Pillsbury pie crusts ... they were too small and too sweet. I will definitely make this again but I will use a different crust. My husband loved the filling but refused to eat the crust. He thought that it was overly sweet and so did I. Without the additions, I feel that it would not have been too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Dimas, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This recipe is very basic and we considered it somewhat bland until....I made it again with some very simple changes and the outcome was unbelievable! I used 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can cream of chicken WITH HERBS, 1 bag of frozen fresh veggies, fresh ground pepper to taste, and shredded roaster chicken. The cream of chicken with herbs is the secret ingredient that makes this pot pie a favorite with my kids and all their friends. You can add all your own favorite herbs, but when pressed for time in a busy family, I say go easy with the herbed chicken. Use a good quality pie dough as well. I think the original recipe is closer to 3 stars but the final one is definitely 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
usually not a fan of pot pies,but this was incredible!! i only added 1/2 can cr of mushroom,seasoned to my taste,pow!!!what a easy meal. Bobal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wrentham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Great and easy. Mind was a little dry, didn't add enough broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States