Chicken Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I have been using this recipe since 2011. It's a great basic recipe that I always turn to. You can make variations to it as your time allows such as sauteing the chicken with your favorite seasonings or using a store bought rotisserie chicken and taking the pieces off the bone, exchanging the canned vegetables for your favorite frozen or fresh vegetables. I always use the Family Size Cream of Mushroom or Cream of Chicken Soup and season the mixture with whatever spices I feel like. I also used the Pillsbury Ready Made Pie Crusts because I'm no pastry chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
It was excellent. I added some spinach sautéed with garlic and mashed potatoes left over from dinner the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Family loved. Few changes...seasoned chicken...used veggies (canned) I like. But isn't that what your supposed to do.... "Season to taste"? Anyway, preparing dinner was a breeze and there were no leftovers to put away. In my house, that's when I know I have a winner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Great base for a recipe. I used 2 cans Amy's Cream of Mushroom & 2 cans Cream of Chicken. Frozen peas, corn, pearl onions & fresh carrots, sweet potato (cut up small). Spiced with salt, pepper & thyme. Made 2 pies + a personal pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This recipe was really only good as a base or idea, the first time I made it, it was very bland. I made many adjustments the second time. I chopped some mushrooms, broccoli, celery, carrot, and a sweet onion. I sauteed the onion and celery with some garlic and then put them to the side. In the same pan I sauteed the onion in I cooked the chicken (which I had diced into small pieces) with some paprika and pepper until golden brown. I added two cups water(because I like lots of gravy in my pot pie) to the soup and some chicken base. I added a can of corn (I usually use frozen but we didn't have any) and mixed everything together in a big bowl. I added a little bit more pepper and some parsley (no salt because the chicken base is usually salty). I also made homemade pie crust. I had lots of extra filling which I used for soup the next day. Very good with some improvements!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Simply amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
It was good. Used fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I added some salt, pepper & parsley and it was perfect. I used shortcuts chicken it was so fast and easy to make! My husband didn't even put salt & pepper on it. He said it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I like this recipe, but I use 1 - 16 ounce bag of frozen mixed vegetables and 1 box of the Pacific brand condensed soup and that seems to work very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This is the greatest! Made it first as printed, then as others, started tweaking it to our tastes. Used 2 cups precooked chicken chunks, sauteed 1 lg. onion, 1 rib celery and 8oz. fresh mushrooms in 2T. butter till tender. Added 12 oz. steam in bag mixed veggies (steamed) 1/8 cup white wine, 1 can cr. of chicken soup, 1/2 can milk, cajun seasonings, and 4 oz. shredded sharp cheddar. This filled my very deep dish pie dish. Used Pillsbury refrig. crusts (no pre baking) Put it on a cookie sheet and baked @400*F for approx. 30-40 min till well browned. Scrumptious!! This has been a great company dish for me - always raves! Also making it right now for us - hubby loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States