Chicken Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
It was good, but who eats canned veggies? Used fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I added some salt, pepper & parsley and it was perfect. I used shortcuts chicken it was so fast and easy to make! My husband didn't even put salt & pepper on it. He said it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I like this recipe, but I use 1 - 16 ounce bag of frozen mixed vegetables and 1 box of the Pacific brand condensed soup and that seems to work very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This is the greatest! Made it first as printed, then as others, started tweaking it to our tastes. Used 2 cups precooked chicken chunks, sauteed 1 lg. onion, 1 rib celery and 8oz. fresh mushrooms in 2T. butter till tender. Added 12 oz. steam in bag mixed veggies (steamed) 1/8 cup white wine, 1 can cr. of chicken soup, 1/2 can milk, cajun seasonings, and 4 oz. shredded sharp cheddar. This filled my very deep dish pie dish. Used Pillsbury refrig. crusts (no pre baking) Put it on a cookie sheet and baked @400*F for approx. 30-40 min till well browned. Scrumptious!! This has been a great company dish for me - always raves! Also making it right now for us - hubby loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
The family ate it up. I had to sub one can of mixed vegs with can of peas and carrots and also had to sub cream of chicken soup with cream of celery and I added a little poultry seasoning. Filling was a little dry so next time I will add a little milk to the mixture before putting it in the piecrust. All in all, it was a good dish and will add it to my dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I really like this recipe. I use the Pillsbury refrigerated crusts; I've tried store brand but they seem drier and harder to manipulate. I have found success using leftover turkey breast and discovered this recipe looking for something in which to use leftover holiday turkey. I like it better with turkey than with stewed chicken breasts. I use a bag of frozen mixed vegetables without potatoes...I find the "soup mix" veggies to have way too many potatoes and they taste weird. As suggested by someone else, I do boil the frozen vegetables with one bouillon cube until warm and then drain. I actually like to use one fresh potato cubed and boiled in the microwave, rinsed and added to the mix. It's just enough potato. Like many people here, I use two cans of soup. I like to use Campbell's cream of chicken with herbs soup. It adds a good amount of flavor without having to gauge how much marjoram or whatever else is needed to perk it up. The soup provides enough sodium for my taste. I do not add milk. It makes good leftovers and reheats well in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
So good and fast! I followed the directions, but altered the measurements a bit and ended up with 2 very full pies. I used approx. 2 cups diced chicken, 1 cup each steamed broccoli and cauliflower, 1 cup each frozen corn and peas, 2 cans of soup, and 1 soup can full of milk. I had to bake it about 50 minutes to brown the crust. I may consider baking it at 400 next time in the hopes of cutting down on the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I love your recipe, as others have done I also tweaked it a little. I use organic frozen vegetables, and substitute milk with water, since the condensed soup is usually salty and already contains a creamy consistency. In addition, I season the chicken breast while they cook and let my husband chop the chicken in to fine shredded pieces, add just a pinch of pepper and garlic. Oh one important tip, I bake the bottom crust for 15 minutes before adding the sauce, this way the bottom does not taste like a dumpling, it's more flaky. Delicious. Thank you for sharing, this is now my go to Sunday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
made this many times, used frozen vegies instead of canned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsheets911

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I changed a few things ... used two cans of soup ... cream of chicken and cream of celery ... added lots of spices. Sautéed onions and mushrooms in butter ... added to mixture ... it turned out GREAT except for one thing??? I used Pillsbury pie crusts ... they were too small and too sweet. I will definitely make this again but I will use a different crust. My husband loved the filling but refused to eat the crust. He thought that it was overly sweet and so did I. Without the additions, I feel that it would not have been too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Dimas, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States