Chicken Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I have read some reviews and people complaining about how store bought this is. I am sure there are a lot of working moms that find this easy to put on the table after a long day of work. But really a nice roux and some chicken stock with maybe a little half and half is almost as easy. I didn't make it they way she did but I did take help from the frozen food section with frozen mixed veggies. And poaching the chicken for this is great but remember to add onions, celery, carrots and herbs to your poaching liquid and use that as your stock. It is really worth putting a few minutes extra time for something like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I tweaked it a bit, and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HBschoolgirl
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Awesome! I added butternut squash and a cooked potato. BTW, i used fresh veggies not the canned kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Very bland flavor. For the unadventerous eater. Have to say, if you're not used to eating canned veggies or just prefer FRESH, this recipe will not do it for you. Using frozen pie crust or a boxed mix (Krusteaz is good) and pre-cooked chicken would save even more time. All in all, not bad and not good ... but I'm sure there are plenty of folks who will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina's mama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is the recipe I have always used except I use thawed frozen mixed vegetables and I make my crust from scratch. It does taste a little bland without some added seasoning so I sometimes add a little minced garlic. My family always enjoys it. When all 3 of my kids were still at home we never had leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I like this recipe, but with one addition: water chestnuts. It sounds weird, but it's quite good with a small can of them added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I have a variation on this simple recipe (which I have, but just changed it up a bit) I use cream of potato soup instead of chicken. I use frozen veggies instead of canned... that way i can also add veggies not included in 'the mix' ... I also add a good scoop of Herbs de Provence (DELISH!) ... pie shell on top and bottom. It is a heavy dish but GREAT in the winter and to share ......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I thought this was very good! Added a few spice so it was not bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Retired house husband

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Montana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
It doesn't get any easier than this. I usually add italian seasoning and black pepper to the chicken while it's cooking. To dilute the cream of chicken a little, I add chicken stock. Um ummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I use this same recipe quite often. Very Yummy!!! The only difference is that I use a large can of chicken. Makes prep a whole lot faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States