Chicken Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Made this and even my wife liked it! I did think it was a bit bland and a bit dry as per recipe. I am going to make it again today and add more soup and some spices. You can't beat it for quick, easy and hardy! And as for using a pre-made pie crust and canned veggies...afterall, it's supposed to be quick and easy. If you have the time........go ahead and make your own crust and cut up fresh veggies. But with a bit of seasoning to taste it is hard to beat this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pirate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
It's a good thing this is easy because I have to make it all the time now. I've learned to make double when I make it. I cook the chicken in the crockpot and when really pressed for time, I buy refrigerated pie crust. This is a great basic recipe that can be modified to your family's taste. I added milk for the first time today because another reviewer suggested it so we'll see. I also like that I also like that I can control the fat content compared to the store bought pot pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
GREAT recipe! Really enjoyed this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by langeloro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This recipe rocks da' haus! But the best part, for me, was the background guitar instrumental that accompanied the video! I play lots of guitars, so I'm playing that more than I'm eating the pot pie. Actually, I'm a big fanboy for the KFC pot pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FANBOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I have always wanted to try to make chicken pot pie and this was great. The only tweaking I did was I browned the chicken diced chicken and added one can of cream of chicken and one can of cream of potato soup. I also diced 2 medium potatoes and added that to the mixture and simmered until the potatoes were soft. I then added thawed frozen corn, peas, carrots, and stringbeans to the mixture and let it simmer until the the veggies were warm. I used the Stop & Shop brand of ready to use pie crust and this mixture was enough for 2 pies with enough mixture left that I froze for a future pie. I'm going to try a shrimp version soon...I don't know when since my husband is allergic to shrimps..lol...this was a great recipe to start off with the basic tools
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceBoxx10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Thank you so much for the great recipe! After reading some of the reviews I used frozen veggies instead of canned. Plus I sautéed and onion, some garlic, and fresh sliced mushrooms and added. This was so easy, the leftovers were great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I made this up myself years ago, and we love it :) Great minds think alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I was really rather surprised at how well this very simple recipe worked out. Admittedly, I didn't follow the ingredients exactly, but that was just because I wanted my choice of fresh vegetables instead of canned or frozen veggies. I was impressed that this pot pie was hearty without being heavy. Other talked of adding extra cans of soup or adding milk, but I was happy with the lightness. Everyone will have to tweak to his or her liking, of course. I do think that four chicken breast halves is about one too many, at least for the size dish I was using. Also, it is worth noting that you'll probably want to partially cook slow cooking veggies such as potatoes, carrots, or squash before you put them in the pot pie and bake it. I think the biggest appeal of this dish is its simplicity, both in having the "comfort" quality in its ingestion, and its easy preparation. When I prepare this in the future I plan on adding a bit more black pepper and maybe some cumin. I hope others will try this and enjoy it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Loved it and so did my family. So easy. I sauteed onions and celery with my chicken. I think onions belong in everything. Other than that, I would not change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyles mom

Displaying results 21-30 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States