Chicken Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This almost exactly how I have made my chicken pot pie for years and it is one of my husband's favorites. I make this almost every time I have left over chicken. I add 1 can of Cream of Potato soup, because my husband loves extra potatoes. I warm the filling ingredients in a saucepan before I pour it into the pie crust. I know it is an extra pan to wash, but it seems to bake the crust better if the filling starts out warm. I add some season salt, garlic powder and onion powder or onion flakes to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Made it last night. This was a great recipe and will definitely make again and again. So glad I signed up to get these daily recipes. Read a ton of other reviews before attempting to make it as directed (always recommend you do this). I had just purchased the Ronco Rotisserie & BBQ Oven and made a a chicken on Sunday so I used the meat from this. Then used 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can of cream of celery; 1/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup chicken stock; 2T of white wine and some garlic and onion powder, fresh ground black pepper, dried Thyme and Marajom (sp)...these spices I just eyeballed vs. measure 1/4-1/2 tsp each. Put all those ingredients on stove and simmered to mix. Bought already made store brand pie crusts in refridgerator section at grocery store. While sauce was simmering took 1st crust and put on bottom and placed into preheated 350 oven for 8-10 min. Thawed some frozen corn and peas and added them to sauce along w/chicken that i basically just tore w/my hands. When 1st crust was done put the filling in and covered with 2nd crust. Put 4 vents in top and baked for 30 min. Also did egg wash per other viewers. Was really yummy and made a lot. Try it and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I make this all the time when I have leftover chicken. It is a bit bland as submitted so to flavor it I add a 1/2 tsp or so of Italian seasoning. If I make it with fresh chicken I cut the chicken up into "fingers", rub in some seasoning and saute in just a bit of oil then cut into bite size chunks and proceed with the pot pie recipe. Another reviewer added 1/2 C. milk and so do I. If using leftover chicken and you only have the equivalent of 2 breasts, make in an 8 inch pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
It's ok, but not at all like Chicken Pot Pie I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Used leftover chicken that was grilled. also used cream of celery soup because it's what i had. turned out a little bland for my taste, but the kids ate it up. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wenzel Soliday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
very bland so added sherry (a jigger) and also a can of cream of celery soup and a splash or three of heavy cream. I used frozen mixed vegies. Came out alot with a great flavor and consistancy. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is basically the recipe I use, except I use 1 can of VegAll, 1/2 soup can milk, about 1/2 tsp pepper, 3/4 tsp garlic salt and 1 tbsp parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Lowe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robinson, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palestine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I make this but I use one can cream of chicken and one jar chicken gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I have been making this for years with the only exception is that I put sour cream in the mixture and use canned chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Try this with a can of cream of mushroom soup instead of the cream of chicken soup- yum! Also in a pinch canned chicken (found near tuna fish) will work as a substitute and save you a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States