Chicken Piccata III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
DH and I were not fans of this dish at all. Instead of cutting the chicken into strips, we pounded the breast thin and cooked them that way. We also used 2/3 chicken broth 1/3 white wine. We found this dish to be very tangy, and the flavours did not seem to meld well. We will not try this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
An average chicken piccata recipe. You do not need all the flour that the recipe calls for - - just enough to coat the chicken. And I did not cut my chicken into strips; flattened the chicken breast to 1/4 inch, pan seared, and kept in a warm oven while making the sauce. The addition of the mushrooms and artichoke hearts was a nice treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I made a few slight changes. I used an egg/lemon juice egg wash, then dredged in seasoned flour. Pan fried with olive oil and butter. I held the chicken out, and meanwhile added mushrooms, chicken broth, lemon juice, crushed fresh garlic, capers and artichokes to pan. Cooked down into a sauce, thickened slightly with cornstarch and served over the chicken. Too lemony for my 11 yr old, but my DH and I liked it. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
This was sooo...good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
This was okay - I liked the chicken piccata I recipe better, as the breading is so much tastier. Skipped the artichokes, and added a little red pepper flake to spice it up just a little. The chicken is nice and moist, and makes a nice sauce to go with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
This was fantastic Sharon. My husband loves the sour/tangy dishes so this was right up his alley. I skipped the mushrooms since I was out and the artichokes were a wonderful addition. I wanted a little more substance to the sauce so I sauteed a shallot and some minced garlic before adding the lemon juice and broth. I used thinly sliced chicken cutlets and they cooked up perfectly. I served this over angel hair pasta and would suggest doubling the sauce so there will be enough to go over the pasta. Thanks for sharing this one...it will definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
I love chicken piccata at restaurants, but I have never made it at home. I sauteed the mushrooms in the pan after the chicken, with the drippings and some butter added and put the garlic in with that. Skipped the artichokes and added a little bit of capers to this. I was surprised that people had stated this was too lemony for them, I didnt find the lemon flavor strong at all. I served it on top of angel hair pasta, and while my husband I liked it, it is not what I am looking for and will continue to search for a lemon piccata recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
Pretty easy to make and tasted very good. I ended up using half chicken breasts pounded to about 1/4 inch thick rather than strips (thought it looked prettier). Reduced the lemon juice requirement to a couple of teaspoons (based on other recommendations) and it tasted good. Also, added capers at the end (with the artichokes) because I always think that capers are part of picatta. Oh, also sauteed the mushrooms in butter before adding them to the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Being a poor college student, what I liked most about this recipe was it's cost/benefit ratio. The ingredients were cheap, time and effort were minimal, and it tasted fabulous. The only thing I'd change is the amount of lemon juice... maybe use half of what the recipe calls for. Also, I substituted white wine for the chicken broth and that worked well. I'd recommend this recipe to anyone who is on a tight budget and low on time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Never had chicken piccata before so I can't compare. The kids and I did like this dish. Very lemony. My hubby got home late and had his dish reheated and he wasn't too thrilled with the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States