Chicken Piccata II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This was Terrific! I made a few changes based on other reviews: Pounded the chicken, then floured it lightly (with plain flour), dipped it in the egg mixture then dipped it into the flour mixture. I browned the chicken in butter and olive oil until done and placed them on a cookie sheet in the oven (250 degrees to keep warm) when they were done. While they were in the oven, I made the sauce. I doubled the recipe, brought it all to a boil (I added a little sugar, 1 tsp... helps cut the sour of the lemon), then added a little bit of cornstarch mixed with water to help thicken it. I added the chicken right before serving... just long enough to coat it. That way the breading didn't get soggy. Everyone raved... it tasted like the one I order at my favorite restaurant! Thank you Terry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
582 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
The first bite my wife took she looked at me and said ‘oh, you will be making this again’! This came out just fine. I modified the original some however. I added lemon zest to the flour mixture. I fried the chicken medallions (I cut the breasts in half) in olive oil and butter. I also decided to use low sodium chicken broth instead of the bullion granules. I added 1 cup of white wine (doubled the sauce recipe) to the broth as well. After adding the sauce mixture to the chicken, I used a bulb baster to siphon some of the sauce/broth off so the chicken was not completely submerged. I simmered this extra sauce in a separate pan, also adding some lemon zest and cornstarch to thicken it (remember to mix the cornstarch in a small bowl w/cold water before adding to the hot liquids – otherwise the cornstarch will just pill/ball up and not dissolve). I also added some to the chicken pan as well. I added some capers to both the chicken pan and the saucepot too. Finally, before serving I sprinkled some lemon zest on each of the medallions. It was just great! Many of my modifications were from other suggestions found here. This is a great recipe to try. Since you are zesting the lemon, try to use the fresh squeezed lemon juice. Nothing compares!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UZIMIKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Just a quibble, but the dipping in egg first makes this dish "chicken franciais" and not "chicken piccata". It's a minor change, but hey - it's cooking. Chicken piccata is dredged in flour - no egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This is a good recipe, but, it would have been better if a Pinot Grigio wine was used with a good chicken stock and 2 tablespoons of capers were added. Chicken should be removed from pan and kept warm, then added back to sauce until thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
This was a basis for a great meal and with the suggestions of many others it came out a five-star meal! I doubled the flour mixture and dipped in the dry mixture, then wet and dry; fried the chicken in olive oil; added a half cup of white cooking wine to the broth mixture; and then added about 2 tbl. of capers while simmering. I also used the reduced sodium chicken bouillon powder to cut down on the salt. Absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I thought this was great and will definitely make it again. I too refrigerated the chicken in the breading for about a half hour as some suggested it helps the chicken keep it's coating. I also added fresh chopped basil to the top as a garnish and it really helped the flavor. I put in a clove of garlic into the sauce and doubled the sauce to poor over the pasta. The dish was a bit bland, but still very good. May try some other variations next time. Awesome on angel hair pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Dufour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
The reviews for this recipe were very helpful, and the final product was delicious. I pounded the chicken breasts, then floured lightly with AP flour, dipped in the egg mixture, then in the flour mixture before sauteeing, After the chicken was cooked, I kept the breasts warm in a 250 degree oven. I doubled the sauce recipe as others suggested, and added 1 tsp. sugar, and 1 tbsp water mixed with 1 tsp cornstarch to the sauce. I added the warm chicken to the sauce in the skillet just before serving - not soggy at all. Good recipe, great reviewer suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
OH MY!! YUM!! I made this for dinner last night and my boyfriend and I LOVED it! I am not a big chicken breast lover but these came out so tender! I used the chicken bouillon (some have tried the broth but I had it in my kitchen) but almost tripled the sauce recipe because I served it with angel hair on the side. I double coated the chicken with the flour as others suggested and even added slivers of fresh garlic to the pan while the chicken cooked (omitting capers because not a fan). To make the dish a little healthier, I cut down on the butter and used some cooking spray. To keep the chicken from sticking, I gradually spooned the sauce to the pan. This dinner was light, easy, and YUM!! I am definitely making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shak
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Man was this good ! I followed the recipe exact. This was really good. It made a gravy that would go perfect with some mashed potatoes I made mines with fried rice . great recipe!THANKS for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
This was FABULOUS!!!!! With just one bite, my family was already asking me to make this recipe again. I did add a little white wine to the broth. I served it with pasta, and wished there was more sauce. I think next time I will double the sauce ingredients and reduce half in a separate pan so not to boil the chicken with too much liquid. This is very flavorful without being overpowering! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 914) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States