Chicken Piccata II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This was Terrific! I made a few changes based on other reviews: Pounded the chicken, then floured it lightly (with plain flour), dipped it in the egg mixture then dipped it into the flour mixture. I browned the chicken in butter and olive oil until done and placed them on a cookie sheet in the oven (250 degrees to keep warm) when they were done. While they were in the oven, I made the sauce. I doubled the recipe, brought it all to a boil (I added a little sugar, 1 tsp... helps cut the sour of the lemon), then added a little bit of cornstarch mixed with water to help thicken it. I added the chicken right before serving... just long enough to coat it. That way the breading didn't get soggy. Everyone raved... it tasted like the one I order at my favorite restaurant! Thank you Terry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
577 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
The first bite my wife took she looked at me and said ‘oh, you will be making this again’! This came out just fine. I modified the original some however. I added lemon zest to the flour mixture. I fried the chicken medallions (I cut the breasts in half) in olive oil and butter. I also decided to use low sodium chicken broth instead of the bullion granules. I added 1 cup of white wine (doubled the sauce recipe) to the broth as well. After adding the sauce mixture to the chicken, I used a bulb baster to siphon some of the sauce/broth off so the chicken was not completely submerged. I simmered this extra sauce in a separate pan, also adding some lemon zest and cornstarch to thicken it (remember to mix the cornstarch in a small bowl w/cold water before adding to the hot liquids – otherwise the cornstarch will just pill/ball up and not dissolve). I also added some to the chicken pan as well. I added some capers to both the chicken pan and the saucepot too. Finally, before serving I sprinkled some lemon zest on each of the medallions. It was just great! Many of my modifications were from other suggestions found here. This is a great recipe to try. Since you are zesting the lemon, try to use the fresh squeezed lemon juice. Nothing compares!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UZIMIKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Just a quibble, but the dipping in egg first makes this dish "chicken franciais" and not "chicken piccata". It's a minor change, but hey - it's cooking. Chicken piccata is dredged in flour - no egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This is a good recipe, but, it would have been better if a Pinot Grigio wine was used with a good chicken stock and 2 tablespoons of capers were added. Chicken should be removed from pan and kept warm, then added back to sauce until thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
This was a basis for a great meal and with the suggestions of many others it came out a five-star meal! I doubled the flour mixture and dipped in the dry mixture, then wet and dry; fried the chicken in olive oil; added a half cup of white cooking wine to the broth mixture; and then added about 2 tbl. of capers while simmering. I also used the reduced sodium chicken bouillon powder to cut down on the salt. Absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I thought this was great and will definitely make it again. I too refrigerated the chicken in the breading for about a half hour as some suggested it helps the chicken keep it's coating. I also added fresh chopped basil to the top as a garnish and it really helped the flavor. I put in a clove of garlic into the sauce and doubled the sauce to poor over the pasta. The dish was a bit bland, but still very good. May try some other variations next time. Awesome on angel hair pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Dufour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
The reviews for this recipe were very helpful, and the final product was delicious. I pounded the chicken breasts, then floured lightly with AP flour, dipped in the egg mixture, then in the flour mixture before sauteeing, After the chicken was cooked, I kept the breasts warm in a 250 degree oven. I doubled the sauce recipe as others suggested, and added 1 tsp. sugar, and 1 tbsp water mixed with 1 tsp cornstarch to the sauce. I added the warm chicken to the sauce in the skillet just before serving - not soggy at all. Good recipe, great reviewer suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
OH MY!! YUM!! I made this for dinner last night and my boyfriend and I LOVED it! I am not a big chicken breast lover but these came out so tender! I used the chicken bouillon (some have tried the broth but I had it in my kitchen) but almost tripled the sauce recipe because I served it with angel hair on the side. I double coated the chicken with the flour as others suggested and even added slivers of fresh garlic to the pan while the chicken cooked (omitting capers because not a fan). To make the dish a little healthier, I cut down on the butter and used some cooking spray. To keep the chicken from sticking, I gradually spooned the sauce to the pan. This dinner was light, easy, and YUM!! I am definitely making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shak
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Man was this good ! I followed the recipe exact. This was really good. It made a gravy that would go perfect with some mashed potatoes I made mines with fried rice . great recipe!THANKS for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
This was FABULOUS!!!!! With just one bite, my family was already asking me to make this recipe again. I did add a little white wine to the broth. I served it with pasta, and wished there was more sauce. I think next time I will double the sauce ingredients and reduce half in a separate pan so not to boil the chicken with too much liquid. This is very flavorful without being overpowering! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 912) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States