Chicken Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
This recipe is great! We loved the flavor. To make it better, we added more than the amount of veggies required (my husband and I love veggies). To make it easier to eat we cut the chicken into bite size pieces before cooking. Fabulous recipe. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
I thought this was wonderful!!! I've never made pepper steak, much less chicken pepper steak, but it was fantastic. I took the suggestion of others and only used 1 cup of water, and it made plenty of gravy (which tasted great on my garlic mashed potatoes). I also simmered it for about 30 minutes, which made the chicken very tender. This will definitely be a keeper in my kitchen. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
My family really enjoyed this chicken dish. Alot of flavorfull gravy... I used about 21/2 lbs of boneless chicken breast and since they were thick I cut them in half length wise and sprinkled each piece with the onion powder and seasoned salt instead of tsp measure, also used 14 oz can of stewed tomatoes istead of fresh plum tomatoes. I didn't increase any of the other ingredents. Made 1 lb of bow tie noodles and poured chicken mixture over noodles. I will most definitely save this to my recipe box to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
After reading the reviews we used 1/2 cup of green pepper and 1/2 cup of red pepper. Scaled back on the soy sauce used lite soy sauce. Replaced water with chicken broth and added about 1/3 cup of white wine. We did add some cornstarch with water to make sauce thicker. Turned out great. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Thanks Tiara for a fabulous dish Hubby loved it and it will now be served instead of pepper steak (red meat and I have a problem ) I served this overmy basmati rice and took it to work for lunch the next day... Had to write out recipe for co-worker Will hopefully post pic when I make it next time once again thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
This was really good and really easy. Took about 20 minutes including prep and cleanup and was very satisfying. I had it with a baked potato topped with greek yogurt, which made a very easy and very tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
Excellent flavor and easy to prepair. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I liked this recipe very much. It was easy to prepare, very tasty and I will definitely prepare it again. Instead of green peppers, I used yellow and red peppers which I had on hand, did not add the tomatoes, which I didnt have, and added green scallions at the end. I also sliced the chicken. Next time I will try it adding the roma tomatoes. But without, it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy Cruzado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Following the suggestion of some other reviewers, I cut the water down to 1 cup. It was good, and worth a repeat, but the gravy was definitely too salty! I would either cut the soy sauce down to 1/4 cup or use low sodium soy sauce. Otherwise loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
My husband LOVED this. Said it is one of his favorites so far. He's a beef eater so I will probably use beef next time but I think it would be great with either. I followed other reviewers comments and only used 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth instead of the water. I also added red pepper flakes. I was scared of the salt even though I love salt and used low salt soy sauce and just seasoned the chicken with onion powder and black pepper. I too used a can of diced tomatoes. We ate it over rice. This makes 4 large servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Firehouse Chicken and Steak Tacos

See how they make chicken and steak tacos down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States