Chicken Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
After reading the reviews we used 1/2 cup of green pepper and 1/2 cup of red pepper. Scaled back on the soy sauce used lite soy sauce. Replaced water with chicken broth and added about 1/3 cup of white wine. We did add some cornstarch with water to make sauce thicker. Turned out great. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
This was great with a few tweeks. Did not salt the chicken, soy sauce always provides enough for us. Used chicken boullion instead of water for some extra flavor. Added 2 more cloves fresh garlic and about a teaspoon of fresh ginger. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Me and my husband both loved this recipe. It is great over rice. I used chicken broth rather than water for more taste. This one goes in my recipe book- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Absolutely Wonderful! Would use a little less or low sodium sory sauce next time. Husband thought it was a little too strong, However I LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hardrockgirl
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
My boyfriend said this was "a winner!" so that's saying something! The only changes I made were: I cut the chicken in bite size pieces, I added an extra TBSP of cornstarch. We ate this over white (calrose) rice but it'd be good over pasta, too. Thanks for a great recipe, this will go into my recipe box as a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I used 1 small green pepper, 2 small reds, 4 cloves of garlic, 2 tbsp fresh ground pepper, olive oil instead of veg, and 4 tbsp cornstarch instead of 2. The flavour was amazing. I have never had pepper steak, so I can't compare, but this was really yummy. Even with the extra cornstarch, the sauce never thickened and ended up more like a soup. Next time I'll add the cornstarch mixture first, let it simmer for 5-10 mins, Then add the peppers, etc so they are still a little crunchy. Can't wait to make this again though, thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
This recipe is delicious and easy to throw together! I use about half the slurry mixture (cornstarch + water) but sometimes I have to add more water to make the sauce thicken [it sounds backwards, but it works]. This is easily adaptable for other veggie/meat combinations. I like to add a lot of black pepper and a little cyanne to this dish to imitate the black pepper chicken at my favorite chinese resturant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This is a great recipe. I think the time involved is is a bit more than 45 minutes, but not by too much. I think I'll use a little less water with the cornstarch next time though, it took awhile to thicken and even then it was still a bit thin. I will be making this dish again though, and my girlfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Loved it! I only made a few modifications. First, I didn't put salt on the chicken -- just the onion powder. Second, I cut the amount of soy sauce in half. Third, I used only 1 1/2 cups of water instead of 2 1/2. And lastly, I used a yellow bell pepper instead of green. I'll definitely be making this again. This would work really well with pork chops, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I really liked this it was fresh and very good. I like pepper steak and this low fat recipie was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States