Chicken Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Healthy meals that taste good are hard to come by. I'll be making this one often. I cut the chicken into bite size pieces, used low fat chicken broth instead of water, increased the cornstarch to 3 Tbsp., and used 2 large green and 1 large red pepper. I also used lower sodium soy sauce and simmered the mixture quite a while longer than the recipe indicated. I thought the consistency was just right. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I doubled the veggies, added a bit of sesame oil, and cut the onion power. Also take 1/2 the corstarch and mix in with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
This was really good and really easy. Took about 20 minutes including prep and cleanup and was very satisfying. I had it with a baked potato topped with greek yogurt, which made a very easy and very tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA
Living In: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This yielded quite a bit of food for only 4 servings and it's very tasty! I had to cook it down quite a bit to have the gravy thicken and I served it over rice. I will definetly keep this and use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Pretty good. My fiance liked it a lot. I took the advice of another reviewer and used beef broth instead of water. What confused me was the measurement of half of a cup of soy sauce when in the recipe, all it calls for is eight tablespoons, four in the beginning and four in finishing. When - and if - I make this again, I'll add more chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I have a recipe very similar to this that I got from a cookbook years ago. There a few differences in the vegetables, but the recipe uses as much sugar as the soy sauce and it is great! For those who didn't like it or thought it was too salty, try adding the sugar. It's a great recipe! One of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Sorry, but my family didn't like this. We ate it because we were hungry, but the leftovers went into the trash, and we NEVER do that! (Hey we're piggies and eat just about anything!)I'm not exactly sure what's missing from this recipe, but it was very bland. Maybe it's because this time of year "good" produce isn't available because it's out of season...who knows. I did use low salt soy sauce, and eliminated the seasoned salt. We added salt at the table. Again, I'm sorry, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I have skimmed over the page for this recipe several times (I have the "favorites" book), and thought about making it each time, so I finally decided to give it a try (my friend also recommended the recipe). This dish was VERY salty (too salty for my liking). This could have been my fault since I did not pre-measure the seasoned salt & onion powder (I just seasoned to taste). I think you could use canned diced tomatoes in lieu of fresh to cut time (and save $'s), and I will do this next time (if I make this dish again). My bf said that this was more "savory" than his mom's version (which I guess is sweeter - the way I always thought pepper steak should be) and he likes mine better! The sauce is not as thick as I had expected, but my bf also said that pepper steak isn't supposed to be thick (who knew?). Anyways, this was a good dish that paired nicely served over steamed white rice (no sides needed). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
The only thing I omitted from this recipe was the cornstarch as I did not have any, so I did not really acheive a 'gravy' texture. It was really just too salty for my taste. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I've been making recipes from this site for just the past month but this one, BY FAR, is the biggest hit. We could have this every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States