Chicken Penne Italiano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Oh, did hubby and I enjoy this! Simple, fresh and light, this really hit the spot. I had a medley of bell peppers on hand, so I used a mixture of orange, red, yellow and green peppers which really lent the dish a lot of color. No need to measure ingredients exactly, just add or subtract to suit your own taste. Also, in keeping with the fresh flavors I was after in this dish, I opted to use fresh, chopped tomatoes rather than canned. Simply beautiful dish with a delicious blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Great base recipe. Gave it 4 stars due to some tweaking.... the recipe doesn't state when to add the tomoatoes - not a big deal just throw them in when you add your peppers. Tripled the garlic (personal preference), doubled the tomatoes and the wine. the result was a nice light, healthy meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
DH tried this tonight, and it turned out pretty good, except he thought white wine & white wine vinegar were interchangeable. Actually was edible, if a little vinegar-ish. Gave it 4 stars because even with the vinegar it wasn't bad. Want to try it with the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Great recipe! I was looking for a chicken/pasta dish but I didn’t want anything too creamy and heavy full of calories. This was perfect because it’s light, all the ingredients blend well and it has lots of flavors. I didn’t have any bell peppers on hand, so I only used tomatoes. I think mushrooms would go really well too. Also, I used fresh basil instead of dried, this was a really nice addition to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Easy, I typically have all the ingredients on hand. My daughter and my husband really liked it. Only changes I made were to coat the chicken with flour prior to browning, adding some halved, sliced summer squash because I had it, and added some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Didn't add the wine since I didn't have any on hand. Did add some red pepper flakes to taste. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
When I made this, I doubled the recipe so that I could have enough for 6 people. Everyone had their fill, and there's still about half leftover. It's pretty filling. Also, and this is just personal preference, I would try to make this a bit thicker with maybe a bit more cornstarch and more tomatoes. Lastly, parmesan cheese (lots of it) is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
A side note-I have added crushed red pepper flakes(about a tsp-more if you like really spicy)after chicken broth mixture has been added so that it can cook into the mixture. I don't add salt as part of the recipe because it's too personal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Wow! This recipe was delicious!! I marinated the chicken in italian dressing for an hour. I added mushrooms, omitted the green pepper & used a whole red pepper. I used 1/2 a red onion & for the tomatoes I used 'Rotel' canned tomatoes & chiles. I didn't have wine, so I used a little white vinegar(2 tablespoons). With this recipe, you can add more or omit ingredients to suit your personal preference. There was so much flavor, my husband & I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I made this dish for my family and it was a success! My hubby said to add it to our "normal meals". The only thing I would change next time is to drain the juices from the chicken before adding the bell peppers and onion. (This was probably my mistake anyway) The sauce was a little runnier than I'd hoped but was still delicious! Again, probably due to not draining the meat. I like the idea of adding wine to the sauce. Next time I am going to try it with a little less chicken broth and a little more wine. Other that that it was fantastic and my entire family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimie G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States