Chicken Pasta Salad with Cashews and Dried Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I liked this salad but would definitely do differently next time. I prepared this one late night. Had put the cooked chicken, cooked pasta, grapes, and green onions in a bowl with every intention to make that night. However, I ended up going to bed early. The next night, I mixed the cole slaw & mayo ( I omitted miracle whip-instead added extra 1/4 cup mayo and 1/2 tbsp of lawry's seasoning) and added the mayo mixture to the cold pasta then added cranberries & pecans. It looked so yummy I decided to eat some then and it was delicious! However, I made this for the next day and as the recipe suggest, I let it marinate overnight, the next day it was a let down! The flavors just "fell flat". I would suggest prepping the salad, chilling overnight, then adding the dressing! Also, make sure you add the cranberries right before serving as they will turn your salad a grayish color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I took a couple of stars off for the recipe as written here. Since I think Miracle Whip is incredibly gross, I made my own creamy dressing with mayo, sour cream, dijon mustard, honey, garlic, fig vinegar and bit of worcestershire sauce; limited celery and diced it rather than sliced so it wasn't so overpowering; I also used half the grapes indicated; and toasted the cashews. it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This salad was delicious! I will definitely make it again. I modified it a little by adding 1 cup of mayo instead of ½ cup of mayo and ½ cup of Miracle Whip (I’m not a fan of Miracle Whip), I excluded the red grapes and put only one cup of dried cranberries in it. I used a rotisserie chicken for ease. I love recipes like this – very flavorful and looks great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Wonderful. Took to a family gathering and loved it. Although I added 1 cup of miracle whip, 1 cup of coconut, 1 can of mandarin oranges, and 1 can pineapple tidbits- awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was good. I ended up using a whole box of pasta (12oz) because there seemed to be a lot of dressing (and I still didn't make up all the dressing). I did think that next time I'll either put cranberries OR grapes--but, not both. I used pecans because that was what I had on hand (I think cashews may have worked better with the flavor combo of this recipe). With a few changes to reflect our personal tastes, this will make a nice summer pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This recipe is great!! I'm on my second batch in a week. My husband LOVES this! We like a drier salad so I just used the poppyseed dressing and 1/2 mayo and it was just enough. Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This salad is fabulous! I tried it at a luncheon, and loved it so much that I requested the recipe, something I rarely do. The only real change, it that our recipe also includes 10 0z.pineapple tidbits. The pinapple is a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
this is my kind of recipe. i have a hard time includind any fruit in my dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I also took a couple of stars off for miracle whip. And i also substituted sour cream. And thats a lot of grapes so i also cut it by half using only red grapes. Now for the good news. I altered it sure but it was a great idea and tasted as i had hoped. Thanks to the creator of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Delicious! Rave reviews from friends and easy to make. Wonderful medley of flavors. Recipe does make excess dressing, but it is so tasty! Not a fan of water chesnuts, so quartered them and actually loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States