Chicken Pasta Salad with Cashews and Dried Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I took a couple of stars off for the recipe as written here. Since I think Miracle Whip is incredibly gross, I made my own creamy dressing with mayo, sour cream, dijon mustard, honey, garlic, fig vinegar and bit of worcestershire sauce; limited celery and diced it rather than sliced so it wasn't so overpowering; I also used half the grapes indicated; and toasted the cashews. it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I liked this salad but would definitely do differently next time. I prepared this one late night. Had put the cooked chicken, cooked pasta, grapes, and green onions in a bowl with every intention to make that night. However, I ended up going to bed early. The next night, I mixed the cole slaw & mayo ( I omitted miracle whip-instead added extra 1/4 cup mayo and 1/2 tbsp of lawry's seasoning) and added the mayo mixture to the cold pasta then added cranberries & pecans. It looked so yummy I decided to eat some then and it was delicious! However, I made this for the next day and as the recipe suggest, I let it marinate overnight, the next day it was a let down! The flavors just "fell flat". I would suggest prepping the salad, chilling overnight, then adding the dressing! Also, make sure you add the cranberries right before serving as they will turn your salad a grayish color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This salad was delicious! I will definitely make it again. I modified it a little by adding 1 cup of mayo instead of ½ cup of mayo and ½ cup of Miracle Whip (I’m not a fan of Miracle Whip), I excluded the red grapes and put only one cup of dried cranberries in it. I used a rotisserie chicken for ease. I love recipes like this – very flavorful and looks great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Wonderful. Took to a family gathering and loved it. Although I added 1 cup of miracle whip, 1 cup of coconut, 1 can of mandarin oranges, and 1 can pineapple tidbits- awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was good. I ended up using a whole box of pasta (12oz) because there seemed to be a lot of dressing (and I still didn't make up all the dressing). I did think that next time I'll either put cranberries OR grapes--but, not both. I used pecans because that was what I had on hand (I think cashews may have worked better with the flavor combo of this recipe). With a few changes to reflect our personal tastes, this will make a nice summer pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This salad is fabulous! I tried it at a luncheon, and loved it so much that I requested the recipe, something I rarely do. The only real change, it that our recipe also includes 10 0z.pineapple tidbits. The pinapple is a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This recipe is great!! I'm on my second batch in a week. My husband LOVES this! We like a drier salad so I just used the poppyseed dressing and 1/2 mayo and it was just enough. Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
this is my kind of recipe. i have a hard time includind any fruit in my dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This is a great salad -- I serve a green salad with these same components, but I'd never thought to turn them into a salad using pasta! I used "Eating Right Light Poppyseed and Caramelized Onion" salad dressing instead of the coleslaw dressing, since I use this with the green salad I make and stock up on it when on special. It is very figure friendly although you'd never guess it was! I don't keep Miracle Whip on hand, and since the dressing is plenty sweet, i just added light mayo to the right consistency. And if you want to be really decadent, add a little crisp bacon (freshly fried and drained) and a little goat cheese!!! Serve on a bead of greens and you've gone to heaven! I've had a lot of fun with this recipe, as I'm a salad fanatic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malibumermaid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malibu, California, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I also took a couple of stars off for miracle whip. And i also substituted sour cream. And thats a lot of grapes so i also cut it by half using only red grapes. Now for the good news. I altered it sure but it was a great idea and tasted as i had hoped. Thanks to the creator of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States