Chicken Pasta I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
I give this a top rating. For a low-cal and low-fat dish, and yes, this is super healthy, it was loaded with flavor. I do most of my shopping at Trader Joe's and this recipe, chicken included, cost me $15.00 to make (eight servings). I went with the original recipe and "tweaked" it to my families likings. I started by cooking the chicken in a dash of Trader Joe's Garlic Oil (if you haven't discovered Garlic Oil -garlic infused olive oil- you are missing out) and held the chicken for dicing until just before the meal (this way the chicken keeps its juices and does not dry out). Like others before me, I added many more mushrooms (one box of pre-sliced) and a whole diced onion. I also added a diced yellow and orange bell pepper and some fresh cut basil. Lastly, I added a ton of fresh garlic (almost a full head) and another can of diced tomatoes (Italian style). Not only did this meal taste great, it presented fantastic as well. All of the colors (red, orange, yellow, green) make a great presentation. I topped off each dish with a teaspoon of both fresh grated parmesan and romano cheese. If you enjoy eating healthy, don't pass this one up. Next time, I am going to make this with some italian style turkey sausage. I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by david4ania

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
If you're looking for light and healthy, this is the way to go! I made several changes to the recipe to fit the tastes of my family. This is a great base recipe that leaves room for you to add your own personal taste! I used basil, oregano, garlic seasoned diced tomatoes. I used tricolor rotinni. After cooking the tomatoes, onion and mushrooms for a few minutes, I added the cooked chicken (which I cooked in a little bit of butter and the italian seasoning)and allowed it to absorb the juices of the tomatoe. Garlic is KEY. I can't tell you exactly how much garlic powder I used because I was tasting and adding.. I did however use quite a bit. I really liked this recipe because it gave me the opportunity to make changes to suit our tastes. Since its just be and my husband, we had leftovers for 2 days. When you heat the leftovers up, it tends to be a little dry. Try adding a small amount of hot sauce OR Italian dressing, it moistened it up and gave it a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
First, I rarely give a 5 star as that is "Thank God for this recipe!" food. Like others, I used 2 cans italian diced tomatoes, left off italian seasoning, used 4 cloves minced garlic (cooked with chicken in olive oil), and 3/4 carton fresh sliced mushrooms. Wonderful taste, even the kids gave it a 3 & 3 1/2. Next time I may add 1 teaspoon of italian seasoning and an extra clove or two of garlic to give it a little more taste. This will be part of our rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
It doesn't taste low fat, but (yay) it is! Even my boyfriend would eat it and he lives on tuna, water, and protein bars alone. I used Italian-style diced tomatoes instead of italian seasoning. It was easy and pretty quick. I don't see why kids who like spaghetti wouldn't like it.. it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOOCHOOMCYUMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
I loved this! I added extra garlic (three more cloves), fresh basil, some sun dried tomatoes, and a zucchini that needed to be used before we went on vacation. We ate half of it and I froze the leftovers, which were just as tasty reheated in a covered casserole in the oven. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
Very simple and delicious. I too used olive oil to grease my pan. I did add 1 clove of garlic to the chicken while it was cooking. Next time, I may use 2. I also used 2 cans of diced tomatoes, more mushrooms, and some matchstick slivers of squash and zucchini. I think that 2 tbsp of Italian seasoning was too much, and when I make this again, I will use 2 cans of tomatoes with Italian seasoning instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I grilled the chicken, added zucchini from the garden, minced garlic, and pesto for a little more flavor. We loved it - even my picky 4 year old gave it two enthusiastic thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyj147

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I made this last week and my husband loved it. Some changes...added 1 can large tomato sauce + more 2 cans stewed tomatoes with basil, garlic and oregano. 1 can rotel. Also used bowtie pasta....Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cajun Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This is one of those basic, versatile recipes you can add or subtract ingredients to your taste. It's a great way to use up all your leftovers. I used left over chicken and leftover veggies I had on had (bell peppers and broccoli). Thanks, I'll be making this often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I cut the recipe in half and made it for hubby and myself for dinner tonight. I used a couple of pre-cooked chicken breasts and cubed them, as directed. I also used twice the required amount of tomato, 2 cloves garlic, chopped red pepper, and more onion and mushroom than required (I didn't measure), I substituted tri-color, twisted pasta for the mostaccioli. The results were quite yummy. Hubby had 2 full servings and rated it 7 out of 10, I'd give it an 8 out of 10. Next time I'll use even more mushrooms. Definite winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States