Chicken Parmigiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
This is a DELICIOUS basic recipe. I have been doing a similar one for years. I also, prefer adding a few more spices TO THE BREAD CRUMBS,like basil, oregano, garlic powder, salt, fresh cracked pepper and onion powder, and a few TBSP of the parmensan cheese;not only ON IT later. For some reason these spices (added separately) are good, but we don't like with an pre-mix of "Italian"spice. It seems to taste a little "soapy". Not sure which spice does that to it.? Some suggested to "double dip" in bread crumbs;if you do, you should really LIKE a heavy battering. It was too thick for our tastes(esp. since you bake in the sauce; to me,the bottom gets a little mushy, and it just adds extra fat and calories). I also use a cookie cooling "RACK" SET ON TOP of a baking sheet, to bake the chicken on instead of just on the cookie sheet pan. It comes out much crisper; letting air get to the BOTTOM of the chicken,also. Also,I wait to spoon the SECOND 1/2 of the sauce UNTIL SERVING, the chicken will stay crisper,(even with the cheese on top). Obviously, we like the chicken on the crisp side (but we don't want to deep fry). For company, put the chicken (with just the cheese baked on top) ON TOP of a small mound of spaghetti and sauce,or any pasta; It makes for a delicious looking presentation. A side salad with some sort of CREAMY dressing seems to compliment the red sauce, and completes the meal wonderfully. We get cravings for this one about 2c a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This was an extremely easy, very tasty recipe. As many others suggested, I only put sauce on the bottom of the chicken and then spooned a little over the top when serving. I think the recipe could be improved, though, by (1) pounding the chicken to a uniform thickness and (2) by spicing up the bread crumbs. I used Italian bread crumbs but next time will sprinkle pepper on the chicken before dredging through the crumbs, and I also plan to add more Italian seasoning and maybe a little parmesan to the crumbs. Both these steps, in my opinion, would take this from a really good recipe to an excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
757 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I BRINED my chicken in 4 cups water , 1/2 cup kosher salt (1/4 table salt) ½ cup sugar for 30 minutes. No need to brine if you are using quick frozen chicken that has been enhanced. Kosher chicken is prebrined. Brining=juicy chicken. Took brined chicken, cut off thin edges, pounded out & shook chicken w/flour (preflouring allows bread crumbs to stick) in a Ziploc-letting floured chicken sit for 5 min. I heated 6 TBS vegetable oil till it shimmered & then added 2 TBS butter to my pan, reserving half of this mixture for my second batch. Bread crumb mixture: I use ½ cup seasoned bread crumbs(same as 2 ounces), ½ cup grated parmesan( double what recipe calls for), 1tsp. Mrs. Dash Garlic and Herb, ½ tsp. garlic powder, ½ tsp, onion powder, ½ tsp. Italian seasoning & a pinch of pepper. Took pre-floured chicken, coated it with egg mixture, then dipped in bread crumbs & FRIED the chicken to a medium golden brown. Shook some parmesan on them right away when done frying to absorb any oil. Side-by side I plated plain spaghetti noodles & cutlets, w/2 TBSP sauce on cutlet & desired amount of sauce on pasta, covered in cheese & baked each individual plate till cheese melted, serving them straight out of the oven. The reviews on this were probably the best I have ever gotten, I used to work in an Italian Restaurant owned by NY Italians & have picked up some techniques. My Fettuccine Alfredo used to be my husband favorite dish, after last night he told me he has a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
581 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
After several Chicken Parm recipes, THIS is THE ONE:-) I've finally found one that we all love! It's simple and it's darned good:-) I will definately make this recipe again and again; thanks so much:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This chicken was so easy to make and turned out excellent! Used Best Marinara Sauce Yet (found here as well)instead of regular spaghetti sauce. This added even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2000
I REALLY liked this recipe. I made my own spaghetti sauce and used parmesan reggiano. I also skipped dipping the breasts in egg as I thought it was unnecessary and it was. Cooking temp. and time are accurate. Even my fussy fiance liked this. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
Wow! This was really tasty and simple. Something quick to make when you can't spend too much time figuring out what's for dinner. Also great on a toasted roll/hero as a sandwich. I varied the recipe a little by adding some parmesan cheese (big cheese lover that I am!), garlic powder, onion powder and some salt into the bread crumbs and then mixing it up before breading the chicken with it. Also added a little salt to the beaten egg to make sure the chicken wouldn't end up bland, but that's just my preference. In response to the one reviewer who wanted thicker breading, what I did was double dip the chicken - coat first with the bread crumbs, then dip into the beaten egg and re-coat with breadcrumbs before actually baking (this would require some more breadcrumbs and probably another egg). Excellent recipe! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
Wonderful chicken recipe! I have made this several times. One night we were craving it and I didn't have any bottled spaghetti sauce. I poured a 14 ounce can of tomato sauce in a microwave bowl, added 2t Italian Seasoning and 1t of garlic powder, cooked on high for 6 minutes, and ended up with a rich thick sauce for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
I'm all thumbs in the kitchen, but I managed this recipe quite easily. My boyfriend, who was a bit skeptical at first, ended up LOVING it... lots of "mmm" noises throughout dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
What I like best about this is that it was super easy to make and the whole family can enjoy. If your tired of just plain spaghetti...give this a try!! It's Italian with a kick!! We loved it!! Darcy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 929) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

See how to make a super-simple baked chicken dinner.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States