Chicken Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I use a little more flavorful breading, 1cup of panko, 1cup of seasoned bread crumbs, and a cup of parmesan cheese with 2 tablespoons of finely chopped fresh parsley, a teaspoon of fresh chopped Thyme and a teaspoon of garlic powder. I brown the chicken in half butter and half olive oil. I also cook some angel hair while the chicken is browning, and put it under the chicken in a casserole dish, cover with foil and bake for 20 minutes, remove foil, add cheese and bake another 10 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
651 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Great recipe! Juicy and flavorful exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
472 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This recipe was really easy to follow & turned out great! My 1st try at chicken parmesan, total success :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
353 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Have to admit if it's not easy and/or tasty I won't put the effort in. The WHOLE famiily loved this, and every recipe gets easier each time its' made, right? I only used 1/2 the Panko. I didn't use the crumbs sparingly either. I only put 2 c in, and had the other 2 c in a bowl in case they were needed. I cut the chicken breasts in half before using the meat mallet. The fillet seemed too big without doing this, and it was easier for someone to have a second helping. I used Barilla Roasted Garlic sauce. I Loved the sifter for the flour; that worked great! Given that I had twice as many fillets, next time, I would probably use half the oil, so I could have clean oil and maybe do the chicken in 2 batches. (I also used paper towels for excell oil.) As much as I loved this recipe, given the calories/fat, I would not make it as often as I'd like. 10/2012- Just made this again for Sunday dinner, the family LOVES this recipe! I skipped/forgot the provolone this time around and used shredded mozzerella. Even though it's not as crispy, I made sure to have enough for leftovers. Also- use paper towels to collect extra oil after frying. TIP- If you buy chicken in bulk, then cut, trim, and pound with mallet before freezing for later use, this saves lots of time during actual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoldenCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Webster, New York, USA
Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
3 stars because this was good with my common sense modifications. I do not know how any one of you got a good result as written. #1 - 4 c. of breadcrumbs?! Whoa! Not right. I used 1 c. plus 1/2c. shredded Italian cheese blend. #2. Recipe calls for 1/2c of sauce yet in directions you are to use 1/3c. x 4 chicken breasts...? You need to 'eye this up' and put enough sauce on each piece. #3 - You cannot use 1 c. of olive oil! Did you all do this? And you had a good result? The chicken would be swimming in oil! I used a little olive oil (maybe 2 TBS?) along with a TBS of butter. #4 - Flour is not needed. #5 - Mozz cheese should be shredded, not 'fresh' for best melting result. #6- Don't put fresh basil on so early. It will burn - leave it for the last 5 min or use dried. Now, with these changes, the dish was delicious - but I guess it is now my own version of chicken parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Incredible dish! Great for dinner guests. For those folks cooking in high altitude, 15 or 20 minutes is not quite enough to cook the chicken breasts. You might want to cook them a little longer (6-7 minutes) on top of the stove or microwave them for several minutes (3 minutes)before serving. Cut them in half to check doneness before serving. If you put them back in the oven for too long, the cheese might burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthwestHiAltCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I made this exactly as directed and it was GREAT! So easy and fast - fabulous use of bnls/sknls chicken breast. It came out moist & tender with the crunchy top - perfect. Served it on angel hair pasta with buttered italian bread and it was a hit. Thank you John - your wife is lucky to have you! I love your videos & sense of humor, and your food is excellent! (swoon...get me the fainting couch!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Absolutely perfect! I used spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce and my very picky fiancee loved it! The crispy chicken was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalen
Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is very easy to make! It is very delicious and turns out just as it should
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
All I can say is Wow! I have made chicken parmesan using the most popular recipe from this site, but this recipe blew the other out of the park! This is a no brainer. My goal in writing this review is to let Members know that just because a recipe has a thousand hits/reviews, does not always mean its the best. I followed this recipe for the most part, however, made a few changes. I substituted regular bread crumbs and a jar of Classico traditional sweet basil. This turned out amazing! I used the entire jar of sauce because I served it over penne pasta. I put a thin spread of sauce on the bottom of the pan prior to placing the chicken inside. This recipe will definitely be a keeper and I won't hesitate to forward this recipe on to others. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 648) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

See how to make a super-simple baked chicken dinner.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States