Chicken Paprikash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was very good, I have made it twice.Both times I used bonless breast because thats what we always have on hand. the first time I used regular (spanish) Paprika, and it was pretty good. The second time i used Hungarian paprika, Oh my god what a difference. the second time i made it it was for 9 hungry firemen. They devoured it. I know alot of people say to make good paparikash you need to use bone in chicken, but i'm here to say that this was outstanding with bonless breast. I will be making this for years to come. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Use chicken stock instead of water, lots more flavor! We love chicken paprikash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Very Good Easy to make. I used all thigs and legs. I cookeed this in the crock pot and was done in about 3-4 hours. This will definately be part of oour regular menu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Samaria, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This recipe is good but not the same as grandma's she used lots of Hungarian paprika and quite a bit of sour cream which we could scoop out and pour over mashed potatoes can't seem to replicate it and yes she is old world Hungarian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
My husband is hungarian so he grew up on chicken paprikash. I made this recipe to surprise him and it was even better than his mom's! (shh don't tell her) Really this was the best I will definitely make this again, the only thing I'll do different is double the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
just like grandmas..hint hint the smaller the noodles the better! add more butter and use hungarian paprika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutfan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Yum! I had never even heard of this dish before, let alone make it. I had chicken and sour cream I wanted to use and I figured 'what the heck'. Turned out great! Never made dumplings before but they were good. I think I had too much dumpling and not enough sauce..either that or I cooked the chicken too long and reduced the liquid too much before adding the sour cream..I added water and it still was a little thick and seemed like not enough. Next time, I will use a little more water, and also add a little garlic when I add the onion to the chicken to cook, and actually maybe increase the paprika a little (using the cheap stuff :-( ). But this had a really good flavor and I'm looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Caraloopy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
The traditional way is to sprinkle the flour over the cooking ingredients and give it some time to let the flavors mingle before adding the sour cream. It makes a big difference in taste. As one reviewed also noted they added broth which is also the way I learned. One key thing: the recipe doesn't specify Hungarian paprika. It is a totally different taste from Spanish which is what you typically get in grocery stores. It is worth the search as it really is the main flavor that defines Hungarian cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I made this for the first time last Saturday night for a holiday dinner. It was excellent. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is very much like my family's recipe (my grandma is an Hungarian immigrant), we stir the sour cream in before serving, as sour cream breaks when heated. I've altered my family recipe by removing the skin from the chicken (it gets flabby during the brazing)I dust the chicken lightly with flour and brown it in with the paprika, salt pepper and oil then ad chicken stock to braze. I remove my dumplings from the boiling pot after a 10-minute boil and put them into my large pan with the chicken. The starch fron the dumplings helps to thicken the sauce. (another reason to stir the sour cream just before serving or "on the side" some family members don't like sour cream, (yeah, I know?!) and leftovers..(yeah, I know?!) are easily reheated without the sour cream separating and making it greasy. (And buy the good hungarian paprika-it makes a difference). But otherwise, this is a good authentic version of paprikas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Lemon Garlic Chicken

A simple and delicious chicken with lemon and garlic.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States