Chicken Paprikash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Very good sauce except toooo much pepper! I will use half the amount next time. I used my Mother-in-laws dumpling recipe cause it's the best... Bring pot of water to a boil, not a rolling boil. Mix together 1 1/2 cups flour, 1/2 cup water, 2 eggs, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp baking powder. Let rest for 5 min. Drop with 2 teaspoons by scraping into water and cook for 15 min. Add to chicken and sauce after you drain!!! DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homestyle Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This was okay. Everyone but me loved it. Not sure what all the excitement is about. I bought freshly ground Hungarian paprika. I followed the recipe to a T and it tastes like the paprika. The people at work thought it was excellent - "restaurant quality" one lady said.. I guess I expected more of a zing. :-) Just not my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This was tasty. I added some garlic and a dash of cayenne because my paprika is rather weak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peanutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
The chicken and sauce on this recipe was great! I will definitely make it again. The only thing I will change are the dumplings... they were way too hard and a bit salty. I think next time I will use a much lighter, fluffier dumpling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is a great recipe - to add taste to the chicken, I salt the chicken and let it rest for at least an hour before cooking time. Chicken thighs are the best. Also, you can start with the onions, add a little water to them and no butter, cover the pot and cook them for 10-12 minutes. The onions will be translucent and you don't need the oil or butter. I also add a heaping Tablespoon of Penzy's Hungarian Sweet Paprika at this point. Then add the chicken. To give it a kick in flavor, I add a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes and green chilies and some cut up bell or other type of sweet pepper. This will add enough liquid that you won't need to add maybe 1/4 cup water. Once the cooking is done. Serve the Paprikas over the nokedli with a dallop of sour cream instead of putting it into the sauce. It tastes great even without the sour cream and the calories will be less. The nokedli can be made using a spetzel maker. My husband is Hungarian and these are the ways my family have made this dish our tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Only thing i did different was to serve alongside bowtie pasta, I didn't think my kids would like the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Clunis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I absolutly love this sauce! I made it with chicken legs so it was hard to eat the chicken without getting messy. Will try with some boneless chicken next time. The only thing I would change would be not to cook the dumplings too long. I only cooked them for five minutes but that was still too long. They turned out quite tough but the taste of that great sauce made up for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samiam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was okay to prepare. I kept thinking this has to easier than this. I already make a chicken already cut up, I heat the oven at 375 - arrange the chicken in a corningwear, sprinkle with salt, pepper, and paprika, then add a can of cream of mushroom or celery and coat the the chicken pieces, rotate and repeat on the other side. Put in oven for 40 minutes and done. the dumplings would be a nice added bonus but the rest could really easy without all the mess that this recipe calls for. I will rate it a 3 for great idea but there is a way easier way of doing this. much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
My whole family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I love this dish! It reminds me of my Nana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

Rotisserie Chicken

See how to season and cook a whole chicken on a rotisserie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States