Chicken Paprikash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I've only eaten this once before making it today. Except for using Hungarian paprika, I followed this recipe exactly. The chicken turned out tender and much to my surprise, the dumplings were not bland- they were very tasty. All of my family liked it so we added it to the "will make again" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
The dumplings were hard as rocks and they had NO flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I'm American Hungarian, and my mom made Chicken Paprikash at least once a week as a child growing up. I consider it to be a family heirloom recipe. Needless to say, this recipe is incredible and by far surpasses mom's. (sorry mom). For this recipe, I substituted chicken stock for the water. And for the chicken, I used rotisserie chicken from the supermarket. And like mom, I quartered the onion and then sliced it. I absolutely loved the dumplings on this one! Hats off for a most delicious and satisfying meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
To save myself some time, I served over egg noodles instead of doing the dumplings. It was a great substitute, though we did have a bit too much sauce (I will scale the water back if I do it this way again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I make this all of the time now. My advise is to follow the recipe. The dumplings can be cooked in chicken stock for flavor. I prefer the bone in chicken because it seems that there is a lot of water in the boneless packs. It's just my opinion, but the bone in kind browns up better for this recipe. I have read up extensively on this and I say you Must get the Hungarian kind, but both work. For the recipe, I use double the recommended paprika... its the feature of the dish and its delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennLynn82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
My family loves this recipe. I actually use this dumplings in my chicken & dumplings recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
My mother always used to add fresh garlic and green pepper slices along with the sliced onions. Makes it a little bolder. She learned the recipe from a Hungarian friend in the Detroit area in the early 60's. (Who also insisted "It is better if the chicken is stolen". ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I have been looking for this recipe!! I always ate at my best friends house when her mom made this as a kid. So happy that I found it. Taste just like her moms. Will add this into our dinner rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was the first time I've ever ate dumplings, I think. Turns out, I don't like em! ; ) But the GF likes dumplings and said they were great!!!! But since I do the cooking around here, I'll serve the chicken over noodles or rice next time. The chicken was absolutely incredible! I kept looking into the pan every few minutes and couldn't believe how great it looked and smelled! Every few minutes, I would ladle some of the onion sauce mixture onto the chicken I will DEFINITELY use this recipe again!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I will make this again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

Rotisserie Chicken

See how to season and cook a whole chicken on a rotisserie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States