Chicken Paprikash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Almost perfect. Just like my mother taught me to make it. I'm 2'nd generation hungarian. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
The only things that really make it Hungarian is using Hungarian Paprika (Szeged) and adding 3 canned plum tomatoes crushed by hand and half of a small bell pepper cut into strips. This is added after the liquid is poured over chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I Just made my chicken paprikash the only other ingredence I use is One tomatoe and One small green pepper. I love it and so do my children
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I ADDED CHICKEN STOCK INSTEAD OF WATER, MUCH MUCH BETTER TASTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Susan, who cares about the fat & the calories!! If that doesn't do ya in something else will. Best paprikash recipe I have made yet! Thanks for posting this Erin!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Use Kluski noodles you find at the store. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is very much like my family's recipe (my grandma is an Hungarian immigrant), we stir the sour cream in before serving, as sour cream breaks when heated. I've altered my family recipe by removing the skin from the chicken (it gets flabby during the brazing)I dust the chicken lightly with flour and brown it in with the paprika, salt pepper and oil then ad chicken stock to braze. I remove my dumplings from the boiling pot after a 10-minute boil and put them into my large pan with the chicken. The starch fron the dumplings helps to thicken the sauce. (another reason to stir the sour cream just before serving or "on the side" some family members don't like sour cream, (yeah, I know?!) and leftovers..(yeah, I know?!) are easily reheated without the sour cream separating and making it greasy. (And buy the good hungarian paprika-it makes a difference). But otherwise, this is a good authentic version of paprikas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is one of our family favorites. We use chicken broth rather than water and also include about half a bell pepper, chopped. I prefer a red pepper. We skip the dumplings and serve with mashed potatoes instead. Just our preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Love this recipe !!! I started making this in Germany and can eat until I can't take another bite !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This dish is quite similar to what I grew up eating, my mother being Hungarian. To be a little on the healthier side, I use boneless skinless breasts and chicken stock instead of water. I've been making this for over 30 years and have never had anyone NOT like it. The dumplings are awesome! Hint: if you use an iced tea spoon and dip it in the boiling water prior to scooping the dumpling dough, you can avoid having to use two spoons. It's much easier. Thanks for sharing the recipe...it's a wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Garlic Chicken

A simple and delicious chicken with lemon and garlic.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States