Chicken Paprikash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I made this recipe on the weekend and the chicken was great but the dumplings were terrible. Ended up making my own dumplings. I have never used eggs in a dumpling recipe before and these were very heavy and tasteless. Any suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I made this tonight having nothing to compare it to, as I'm not Hungarian and never had this before ... but it was fabulous! My husband liked it too. Because he hates onions, I left those out but it really didn't need them. The dumplings are a bit of trouble, but it was fun and different! (P.S. I'm making it again tonight, this time with egg noodles ... MUCH easier!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Very good..skipped the dumplings and served over brown rice. Wanted it a bit spicier, so I added a teaspoon of garam masala!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Marino Rhodes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, New York, USA
Living In: Sharpsburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This recipe was very good and turned out just like was described. I was not real fond of the dumplings though (but my husband liked them) so if I make this again I will skip the dumplings and make mashed potatoes to put the yummy sauce over. A wonderful way to make chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I have been looking for this recipe for years. The dumplings need to be small or they don't cook thru and the onions should be chopped fine. Also, chopped fresh parsley is a nice boost to the dumplings. Just wonderful! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jyamser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This was amazing! My whole family and guests licked the plate! I made it exactly to the recipe. If you want it to be good, you MUST use the bone-in, skin-on chicken pieces. Yes it is very fattening but that is what gives it wonderful flavor. If you make it with de-boned breasts don't expect it to be as good. The dumplings sounded odd but they were really really tasty! A total keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Pretty good. Used thighs; Ann would have preferred the skin off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
My grandparents were Hungarian and the recipe that was handed down in our family was very simular to this one. It is important to use good paprika. Hungarian Paprika is best. If your recipe is turning out bland it could be because of the Paprika you are using. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Ehrhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I've been making my mother's traditional Hungarian Chicken Paprikas (with tomatoes, green peppers, and a hint of hungarian sausage) for years. My own family prefers this one - it is simple and delicious! I did need to add more chicken broth (instead of plain water) as it evaporated during the cooking process, I also added a small can (8oz) tomato sauce before adding the sour cream mix. This is a really quick meal if made with boxed dried Spaetzle (found in the pasta or ethnic foods grocery aisle) - not as good as homemade granted, but very tasty non-the-less when making dinner after a long work day. BTW - its gotta be real Hungarian Paprika!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellensburg, Washington, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I thought this recipe was okay, not bad, not great, just okay. It was blander than I thought it would be. My husband liked it and the kids ate it (didn't complain but didn't rave about it) but I thought it was bland. I did make sure I bought the Hungarian paprika and I added more than the 1tsp recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States