Chicken Paprikash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Absolutely delicious flavor. After reading reviews I went and bought some Hungarian paprika and followed recipe as written with the exception of increasing the amout of sauce. Found dumplings a little on the heavy side but overall an excellent meal. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ev's Corner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Point Edward, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
A SOLID 4-Star dish! Just one more tasty dish to add to your repertoire. Something to use as a change of pace and different taste. Let's face it, you don't use egg noodles every day and this gives you that alternative starch, instead of making the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I've been making this for years, since I ate it at a Hungarian restaurant in Toledo in the 70's. It's my husband's and both daughters' favorite, To save time,I usually serve it over tuxedo orzo. To save calories, I use about a TB of olive oil, then add the onions, add all the spices when they are softened, and then the chicken. I don't add water or flour anymore, though. I remove the chicken to a heated plate, then boil the liquid down to about 1/4 cup, turn off the heat and add light sour cream or plain yogurt (make sure it's not sweet) and blend it. Then add the chicken and turn to coat it. If you like it spicy, use smoked paprika. It's really good and authentic tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittyg04
Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Awesome. Reminds me of my grandmothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My paternal grandparents came over from Hungary and this was one of her signature dishes. I still make it today. My grandmother used a lot more paprika and onions and no black pepper. She used sweet paprika with a touch of hot version. She put the batter on a plate and cut off bite sized noodles with a knife, dipping it in water often to keep the batter from sticking. It's much faster than the spoon thing. For maximum flavor I use dark meat and add chicken stock to the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Salfai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
delicious! it's amazing as it is, but except for special occassions, I'll make via a variation that's a tad healthier -- boneless/skinless chicken thighs and fat free sour cream served over egg noodles. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I did use Hungarian Paprika, and the sauce was fairly tasty. However, the "dumplings" (and I use that term loosely) were hard, flavorless lumps that even a liberal coating of sauce could not salvage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My husband gets off work at 3:30, and I, 5:00. He usually wants dinner right away. I re-heated pot roast for him, while I made this chicken paprikash for my dinner and leftovers. He ate all his pot roast and veggies, half of my paprikash and asked for another bowl of paprikash. He LOVES it! Best recipe ever and quick!!! I used Hungarian Paprika and pre-cut chicken strips (pre-cut for fajitas in grocerery meat section). Used 3.5 pounds of chicken and doubled the recipes...thank goodness I did! He just said "that's the best I've ever had...(eat that ex-wife) lol. (she use to make it too, but not this recipe) ;) Life is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela Riley Boers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I've tasted this dish in a restaurant and it with pure bliss...so I've been looking for a good recipe since. Gave this a try and it was not good. No one in my household liked it. The dumplings weren't fluffy and the sauce tasted like warm sour cream with a dash of paprika. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamalam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elliot Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Wonderful! Fast favorite for years... For super quick version, just use grilled chicken from grocery store or leftover turkey meat ( make the sauce, add the bird, mix, enjoy!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

Rotisserie Chicken

See how to season and cook a whole chicken on a rotisserie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States