Chicken Paprikash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My paternal grandparents came over from Hungary and this was one of her signature dishes. I still make it today. My grandmother used a lot more paprika and onions and no black pepper. She used sweet paprika with a touch of hot version. She put the batter on a plate and cut off bite sized noodles with a knife, dipping it in water often to keep the batter from sticking. It's much faster than the spoon thing. For maximum flavor I use dark meat and add chicken stock to the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
delicious! it's amazing as it is, but except for special occassions, I'll make via a variation that's a tad healthier -- boneless/skinless chicken thighs and fat free sour cream served over egg noodles. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I did use Hungarian Paprika, and the sauce was fairly tasty. However, the "dumplings" (and I use that term loosely) were hard, flavorless lumps that even a liberal coating of sauce could not salvage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My husband gets off work at 3:30, and I, 5:00. He usually wants dinner right away. I re-heated pot roast for him, while I made this chicken paprikash for my dinner and leftovers. He ate all his pot roast and veggies, half of my paprikash and asked for another bowl of paprikash. He LOVES it! Best recipe ever and quick!!! I used Hungarian Paprika and pre-cut chicken strips (pre-cut for fajitas in grocerery meat section). Used 3.5 pounds of chicken and doubled the recipes...thank goodness I did! He just said "that's the best I've ever had...(eat that ex-wife) lol. (she use to make it too, but not this recipe) ;) Life is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaelaRBoers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I've tasted this dish in a restaurant and it with pure bliss...so I've been looking for a good recipe since. Gave this a try and it was not good. No one in my household liked it. The dumplings weren't fluffy and the sauce tasted like warm sour cream with a dash of paprika. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamalam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elliot Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Wonderful! Fast favorite for years... For super quick version, just use grilled chicken from grocery store or leftover turkey meat ( make the sauce, add the bird, mix, enjoy!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I made this recipe on the weekend and the chicken was great but the dumplings were terrible. Ended up making my own dumplings. I have never used eggs in a dumpling recipe before and these were very heavy and tasteless. Any suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I made this tonight having nothing to compare it to, as I'm not Hungarian and never had this before ... but it was fabulous! My husband liked it too. Because he hates onions, I left those out but it really didn't need them. The dumplings are a bit of trouble, but it was fun and different! (P.S. I'm making it again tonight, this time with egg noodles ... MUCH easier!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Very good..skipped the dumplings and served over brown rice. Wanted it a bit spicier, so I added a teaspoon of garam masala!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, New York, USA
Living In: Sharpsburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This recipe was very good and turned out just like was described. I was not real fond of the dumplings though (but my husband liked them) so if I make this again I will skip the dumplings and make mashed potatoes to put the yummy sauce over. A wonderful way to make chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States