Chicken Paprikash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Bland and no flavor. Made it exactly as the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Boro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This recipe is so simple, so delicious, and the sauce will have you mopping up your plate with a soft bread. I used bone in thighs, made mashed potatoes not dumplings, and tossed some thin sliced zucchini into the onion mixture. I know, I know, zukes are not part of the classic Paprikash but they are exploding out of the garden and so I put them into everything! I used white wine for moisture when the veggies were softening, and next time I may use chicken stock since I always have it in the freezer. I did not mix the flour into the sour cream; I pulled the chicken out and floured the vegetables and let that thicken, while I ran the chicken through the toaster oven cycle to crisp the skin. When those two things were done, I stirred in the sour cream and let it all blend but not boil because I didn't want the sauce to break. So while I'm telling you exactly what I did... in all, the changes I made were for my convenience and style but made no substantial difference to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I did not like this recipe....the dumplings were so hard and bland. the chicken was so so and the sauce was just OK.....would not make this again......very disapointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mywraps

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Absolutely delicious flavor. After reading reviews I went and bought some Hungarian paprika and followed recipe as written with the exception of increasing the amout of sauce. Found dumplings a little on the heavy side but overall an excellent meal. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ev's Corner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Point Edward, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
A SOLID 4-Star dish! Just one more tasty dish to add to your repertoire. Something to use as a change of pace and different taste. Let's face it, you don't use egg noodles every day and this gives you that alternative starch, instead of making the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I've been making this for years, since I ate it at a Hungarian restaurant in Toledo in the 70's. It's my husband's and both daughters' favorite, To save time,I usually serve it over tuxedo orzo. To save calories, I use about a TB of olive oil, then add the onions, add all the spices when they are softened, and then the chicken. I don't add water or flour anymore, though. I remove the chicken to a heated plate, then boil the liquid down to about 1/4 cup, turn off the heat and add light sour cream or plain yogurt (make sure it's not sweet) and blend it. Then add the chicken and turn to coat it. If you like it spicy, use smoked paprika. It's really good and authentic tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittyg04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Awesome. Reminds me of my grandmothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My paternal grandparents came over from Hungary and this was one of her signature dishes. I still make it today. My grandmother used a lot more paprika and onions and no black pepper. She used sweet paprika with a touch of hot version. She put the batter on a plate and cut off bite sized noodles with a knife, dipping it in water often to keep the batter from sticking. It's much faster than the spoon thing. For maximum flavor I use dark meat and add chicken stock to the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Salfai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
delicious! it's amazing as it is, but except for special occassions, I'll make via a variation that's a tad healthier -- boneless/skinless chicken thighs and fat free sour cream served over egg noodles. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I did use Hungarian Paprika, and the sauce was fairly tasty. However, the "dumplings" (and I use that term loosely) were hard, flavorless lumps that even a liberal coating of sauce could not salvage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

Rotisserie Chicken

See how to season and cook a whole chicken on a rotisserie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States