Chicken Paprikash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Because so many reviewers mentioned using specifically Hungarian paprika, I made a special trip to get some and got sweet paprika. Recipe was okay, but a little boring. I'll probably add some hot sauce to the leftovers. A friend told me there is sweet AND hot paprika. I'd be interested in knowing which one the other cooks used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAWilliams

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I used boneless chicken breasts, made the dumplings tiny, and used more paprika............we loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Even though I personally did not enjoy this recipe, my family loved it, including my Polish mother-in-law. She said it reminded her of home. I found it rather bland but as long as my wife and mother-in-law liked it I will have to give it at least four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I followed the directions but did not care for this recipe. Nor did my family. Sorry just not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This was pretty good after I tweaked the original recipe ever so slightly. I followed the recipe for the paprikash but only used half the sour cream & threw in two bay leaves. I also added mushrooms and 2 cloves garlic to the pan when I sauteed the onions. The dumplings were gummy and tasteless, so I added cracked black pepper, a pinch of cayenne, and a little parmesean. I also recommend using self rising flour. Ill make it again as the left overs are even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Bland and no flavor. Made it exactly as the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Boro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This recipe is so simple, so delicious, and the sauce will have you mopping up your plate with a soft bread. I used bone in thighs, made mashed potatoes not dumplings, and tossed some thin sliced zucchini into the onion mixture. I know, I know, zukes are not part of the classic Paprikash but they are exploding out of the garden and so I put them into everything! I used white wine for moisture when the veggies were softening, and next time I may use chicken stock since I always have it in the freezer. I did not mix the flour into the sour cream; I pulled the chicken out and floured the vegetables and let that thicken, while I ran the chicken through the toaster oven cycle to crisp the skin. When those two things were done, I stirred in the sour cream and let it all blend but not boil because I didn't want the sauce to break. So while I'm telling you exactly what I did... in all, the changes I made were for my convenience and style but made no substantial difference to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I did not like this recipe....the dumplings were so hard and bland. the chicken was so so and the sauce was just OK.....would not make this again......very disapointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mywraps

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Absolutely delicious flavor. After reading reviews I went and bought some Hungarian paprika and followed recipe as written with the exception of increasing the amout of sauce. Found dumplings a little on the heavy side but overall an excellent meal. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ev's Corner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Point Edward, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
A SOLID 4-Star dish! Just one more tasty dish to add to your repertoire. Something to use as a change of pace and different taste. Let's face it, you don't use egg noodles every day and this gives you that alternative starch, instead of making the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States