Chicken Paprikash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Made the recipe to a T, except I used the hungarian paprika instead of regular. I was very disappointed. I've had this dish before, which was made by my hungarian friend and it didn't taste the same. The traditional is way way better. I'd rather eat it with white meat, and a lighter fluffier dumpling. I found the dumplings in this recipe were too stiff and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was fantastic, even my 2 yr old liked it! I used more like 2 or 2 1/4 pounds of chicken because I wanted leftovers and there was still PLENTY of sauce, I will always use 2 lbs of meat from now on. I live in a 3rd world country and there is no sour cream, only creme fraiche, so I used that and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I have used this recipe many times and love it. I used regular paprika the first couple of times until I finally found the Hungarian paprika...man what a difference! I don't make the dumplings, as I love mine with Spaatzel (recipe on this site has a 5 star rating)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I've only eaten this once before making it today. Except for using Hungarian paprika, I followed this recipe exactly. The chicken turned out tender and much to my surprise, the dumplings were not bland- they were very tasty. All of my family liked it so we added it to the "will make again" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
The dumplings were hard as rocks and they had NO flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I'm American Hungarian, and my mom made Chicken Paprikash at least once a week as a child growing up. I consider it to be a family heirloom recipe. Needless to say, this recipe is incredible and by far surpasses mom's. (sorry mom). For this recipe, I substituted chicken stock for the water. And for the chicken, I used rotisserie chicken from the supermarket. And like mom, I quartered the onion and then sliced it. I absolutely loved the dumplings on this one! Hats off for a most delicious and satisfying meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
To save myself some time, I served over egg noodles instead of doing the dumplings. It was a great substitute, though we did have a bit too much sauce (I will scale the water back if I do it this way again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I make this all of the time now. My advise is to follow the recipe. The dumplings can be cooked in chicken stock for flavor. I prefer the bone in chicken because it seems that there is a lot of water in the boneless packs. It's just my opinion, but the bone in kind browns up better for this recipe. I have read up extensively on this and I say you Must get the Hungarian kind, but both work. For the recipe, I use double the recommended paprika... its the feature of the dish and its delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennLynn82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
My family loves this recipe. I actually use this dumplings in my chicken & dumplings recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
My mother always used to add fresh garlic and green pepper slices along with the sliced onions. Makes it a little bolder. She learned the recipe from a Hungarian friend in the Detroit area in the early 60's. (Who also insisted "It is better if the chicken is stolen". ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States