Chicken Paprikash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I thought this was excellent. I loved the spice from the red pepper flakes. It added the perfect amount of heat. I served it over egg noodles tossed with butter, salt, and pepper. For the record, I used up some leftover shredded pork instead of the chicken, used olive oil instead of the bacon grease (didn't have it on hand), and finally, I skipped the flour since it didn't seem to need it. Looking forward to leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Love this recipe. I've been using a variation of it I got from Epicurious (they do veal, I do beef), but this is pretty much bang on. The only thing I'll do differently sometimes is use shallots in addition to onions. Also, I make sure to use Hungarian sweet paprika, I use cayenne pepper instead of red pepper flakes, I omit the water, I use about half the sour cream and I use a can of plain tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes. I follow as directed, but once the onions are sauteed I'll pull them out and throw the beef in. When I cook the beef, I will usually add some garlic powder, onion powder, black pepper and regular paprika to season the beef. We're having friends over this weekend and I'll be doing it again then. Basically I'll be doubling the recipe for 5lbs of beef. I guess my recipe isn't exactly the same, but it's close. Maybe I'll post the one I use. Anyhow, this looks delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is a great dish! Extremely tasty and very spicey. If you don't like it hot just use less red pepper. Other then that, wouldn't change a thing :) My husband found it here, now makes it at least once a month! Thanks for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This is delicious! Like some other readers, I used boneless, skinless chicken breast cut into cubes and substituted chicken broth for the water. I served over linguine, which was what I had in the cupboard. Great comfort food dish on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I had never tasted this recipe before and I found it to be delicious. The only thing I did different was to add chicken broth instead of the water in the recipe. It was very easy to make and we will have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
My family loves this! Might want to double the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michellejo3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I used olive oil instead of bacon grease, added in a chopped red pepper, used about a tbsp of red pepper flakes and 3tbsp of regular paprika, and 4tbsp of smoked (I couldn't find the real hungarian paprika in the area), and I used chicken broth in place of water. I also used this recipe for the dumplings http://easteuropeanfood.about.com/od/hungariannoodlesdumplings/r/nokedli.htm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This was fantastic! I'd never had anything Hungarian before though I have heard through a Hungarian friend of mine that there are many dishes that are delicious and unique. Chicken Papkrikash was one of the dishes she'd mentioned. So when I came across this recipe, I was utterly delighted. It was every bit as good as she had stated. I loved the thick tomato, sour cream and paprika flavor. So rich and creamy! And I absolutely loved the zing that the red pepper gave it. Soo good! I followed some of the directions the other reviewers gave and added chicken broth instead of water which I think gave it extra flavor then it would have had I used just water. I also poured it over egg noodles. Yummy!! :) The only reason I'm giving this just four stars and not five is because my five year old thought it was a bit too spicy, (he doesn't even like pepper though) and my 2 year old took one bit and instantly stuck up her nose at it saying 'I no like it mommy...' (Sigh...she's soo picky -_-') Oh well, there loss hehe ;). Too bad for them, I'm definately adding this recipe to my list of keepers! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Wasn't good, even worse as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Turned out really good. In an effort to use up what I have in the freezer I used boneless chicken breasts (I know! I know! My sister lived in Hungary and would very much disapprove) and I used chicken stock in place of water to add some more flavor. I let it simmer for almost an hour and served it with Kaese Speatzel. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States