Chicken Paprikash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Very good. My family really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dry Ridge, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
It's not quite 4 but since there's no 3.5, I gave it 4. I guess I liked it enough but it's not quite what I expected. I had chicken paprikash last week at a local restaurant for the first time in my life and I quite liked it. It was creamy and the chicken was very tender as well. I didn't use the whole chicken but it was the sauce that I wasn't fantastically happy about. It was too sour...well more like tart...my hubby said. I thought it was the sour cream at first(I only had 16 oz tub so I tried to put "about" half of it in and I thought maybe it was actually a bit more than half and that made it sour. But I think it was the tomato. It was definitely not creamy like the one I had at the restaurant. Even though I liked it, I don't think I will be making it the same way again. I want to find a way to make it creamy and not as sour. Definitely I will not use tomato again of if I do, not as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe twice. In the second rendition, I made it with authentic Hungarian spicy paprika. That addition pushed the recipe over the edge. :) If you like spicy food, try it with spicy paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimberly: )
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe and the only thing I do change is I use chicken broth instead of water. Also love to use the spatzel recipe that another user recommend. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly: )
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I seared the chicken in olive oil(no bacon grease), pureed the diced tomatoes, used extra Paprika as recommended. I even hunted down some Szeged Hungarian Paprika because I had to taste the difference and it definitely has a better flavor. This recipe was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was very yummy, I used cut up chicken breasts and chicken broth instead of water as some others had suggested. Boyfriend had not ever had chicken paprikash but he really liked it and I will be making this again. I think I will do it with the chicken parts next time because I'm sure it would be even more flavorful that way. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWFMOMTIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I followed the instructions step by step. This recipe was very easy to prepare and the entire family loved it! I will definitely prepare this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I hate chicken paprikosh, but this was amazing! Will definately be sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I tried this recipe and it makes a lot - enough for another dinner. Instead of cutting up a whole chicken, I used what I had - boneless, skinless chicken thighs. It didn't need such long cooking. The sauce was delicious, but in my opinion needed some help with herbs. I added dill and lovage. That's what I like about cooking, adapting recipes to wherever your tastes bring you. This made a very good chicken paprikash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I thought this was excellent. I loved the spice from the red pepper flakes. It added the perfect amount of heat. I served it over egg noodles tossed with butter, salt, and pepper. For the record, I used up some leftover shredded pork instead of the chicken, used olive oil instead of the bacon grease (didn't have it on hand), and finally, I skipped the flour since it didn't seem to need it. Looking forward to leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States