Chicken Paprikash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mirdonna
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Substituted bacon grease for olive oil; Used chicken breast with skin and bone, but removed the skin before adding the final sauce. I added 3 chicken bouillion cubes to 2 cups of water. I probably could have used more paprika, but didn't want to overdo it. My husband loved the dish, but is not a fan of sour cream. He said the sour cream was a little too strong for his taste, so next time, I think I will add only half of a container of that. The dish was very tasty. For next time, I will also try using a slotted spoon to make the spaetzel, as a regular spoon produced pieces that were a little too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mirdonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I just made this recipe and it's amazing! I'd only change one thing, I'd not add so much red pepper. I cut it down to 1/2 tsp. but that was till too much heat for me. Next time I'll go with 1/4 and this will be perfect for me. I think it overpowers the other flavors. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
My Hungarian family makes this a little differently, for those who'd like to try: - Use cooking oil instead of bacon grease - Omit garlic, crushed red pepper & tomatoes (my grandma would be rolling in her grave!) - Increase paprika to at least 4 tablespoons Saute that chicken in onion & paprika mixture over low heat for at least 20-30 mins so that paprika really seeps into the chicken. THEN add water. - Add at least one more cup of water so chicken is completely covered while bubbling away - Add 4 seeded & quartered green peppers into water covering chicken (trust me) - Add 2-3 bay leaves - Add at least 4 tablespoons dried basil (yes, really) - Add sour cream if sauce too thin. Should be about as thick as syrup. Result: a very pure flavor of chicken & paprika with hints of basil & bay leaf. This dish takes lots of tweaking to master, so don't give up! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Real Paprikash doesn't have tomatoes in it. We only use chicken, skin on, bone in, a lot of onions, salt pepper real Hungarian paprika a little garlic and real sour cream. You can mix the flout into the sour cream to thicken the gravy. No need for chicken broth you're using the whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gale357

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Very good. My family really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dry Ridge, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
It's not quite 4 but since there's no 3.5, I gave it 4. I guess I liked it enough but it's not quite what I expected. I had chicken paprikash last week at a local restaurant for the first time in my life and I quite liked it. It was creamy and the chicken was very tender as well. I didn't use the whole chicken but it was the sauce that I wasn't fantastically happy about. It was too sour...well more like tart...my hubby said. I thought it was the sour cream at first(I only had 16 oz tub so I tried to put "about" half of it in and I thought maybe it was actually a bit more than half and that made it sour. But I think it was the tomato. It was definitely not creamy like the one I had at the restaurant. Even though I liked it, I don't think I will be making it the same way again. I want to find a way to make it creamy and not as sour. Definitely I will not use tomato again of if I do, not as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe twice. In the second rendition, I made it with authentic Hungarian spicy paprika. That addition pushed the recipe over the edge. :) If you like spicy food, try it with spicy paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimberly: )
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe and the only thing I do change is I use chicken broth instead of water. Also love to use the spatzel recipe that another user recommend. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly: )
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I seared the chicken in olive oil(no bacon grease), pureed the diced tomatoes, used extra Paprika as recommended. I even hunted down some Szeged Hungarian Paprika because I had to taste the difference and it definitely has a better flavor. This recipe was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was very yummy, I used cut up chicken breasts and chicken broth instead of water as some others had suggested. Boyfriend had not ever had chicken paprikash but he really liked it and I will be making this again. I think I will do it with the chicken parts next time because I'm sure it would be even more flavorful that way. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWFMOMTIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States