Chicken Paprikash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
The sauce was delicious! But you definitely need to make more than the recipe calls for. I increased the sauce (sour cream, wine, chicken stock and paprika) by 50% and used only two large chicken breasts and I still would have liked more sauce. Served over egg noodles. Next time I'll try it with whole cut-up chicken and spaetzle or dumplings. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
wonderful recipe! I took advice of other and increased liquid to make more sauce. Added a total of 1 cup chicken broth omitted the wine; 1 cup of sour creme; and two heaping tablespoons of Hungarian paprika. Husband said this was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Dee-licious!! The sauce this made was so good, I could almost drink it as a beverage, lol. My SO, who NEVER puts sauce or gravy on anything, was spooning ladles of this over his chicken and the wide egg noodles I served with it. I agree with the hot Hungarian paprika being a "must", as well as doubling the broth, wine and sour cream. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This is a very good recipe, and this is a Hungarian talking. I personally like lots of sauce, so I increase the liquid. HUNGARIAN paprika must be used to get the true taste, or bland is an understatement. I also would never use boneless/skinless chicken breasts (to decrease cooking time as some have done) because the skin and cooking time is essential to meld the final flavor of "paprikas" (the Hungarian spelling of what is pronounced "paprikash"). Overall, this is the only recipe that I've ever had that can compare to the family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverview, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This recipe rocks! It has been my family's favorite this winter. Even my sauce and onion-phobic son loves it! I have used all cuts of chicken successfully-boneless breasts, boneless thighs(my favorite),cut up pieces (good for buffets),etc. I add minced garlic and use 1T. hot hungarian paprika and 1T. regular (or sweet) hungarian paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This is soooo good!! Very easy to make. I do double the onion, paprika, white wine, chicken broth, and sour cream to have more sauce. We serve it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I made this recipe using 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (cut into 4 pieces). I doubled the liquids to make more sauce like everyone suggested. I also added three cloves of garlic and a large pinch of ground ginger. I served it with potato and cheese perogi (the fozen kind out of a box -- boiled for recommended time then browned in the same skilled for a few minutes). I garnished with a few sprinkles of dried bay leaves. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
My husband and I thought this recipe was GREAT. I used 4 chicken breasts cut into 3 pieces each, then added a little more oil, doubled the paprika, wine, chicken broth and sour cream, as we like lots of sauce. I used the hot Hungarian paprika, which made it very spicy and flavorful. I served the chicken over a bed of garlic parsley fettuccini (which you can buy in your local grocery store). I will definitely make this again and again. Thank you Jill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Wonderful flavor. Even better than the recipe my family has handed down over the years. The wine gives it a very rich flavor. I like a lot of sauce so I used 3-4 tablespoons of paprika, 1 cup of white wine, 1 cup of broth and 2 cups of sour cream. I used 4 large boneless/skinless breasts instead of the whole chicken. I also cooked my spaetzle in chicken broth instead of water. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
It was just okay, but bland overall. I didn't have any Hungarian paprika on hand, maybe that would have improved it as some other readers recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States