Chicken Paprikash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Quick, easy and tasty. Add a bit of cayenne pepper to up the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinny28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I wasn't going to review this because I made so many adjustments to it, but after tasting how it came out when I made it, I had to. First, I'm on a very strict diet, so I can't have a lot of fat. I used boneless, skinless chicken breast cutlets and pounded them to about a quarter inch. Then I browned them in olive oil. Removed from the skillet and followed the recipe as stated with the onions, paprika, wine and broth except I doubled them because I love sauces. Then I returned the chicken breast cutlets and simmered until they were done. I did not add the sour cream because of my diet, but I just poured some of the thickened sauce on top of my chicken and it was AWESOME. Full of flavor and what a great flavor it was! I had it with asparagus and I dipped my spears in the sauce on my plate. I can only imagine how good and flavorful this is when made the RIGHT way. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is an amazing dish and it tastes almost exactly like the version my hungarian friend makes.I changed it slightly by using chicken thigh meat and then I add mushrooms green peppers, and 2 whole tomatos. that is how my friend made it. thanks for sharing this amazing recipe, I will make it over and over and over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This end result of this was very good and tasty. I will definitely make this again. It was a little time consuming for a weekday. Next time I'll do it on a weekend when I don't have to rush so much. Once I get it down I can do it on a weekday. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
My mother made this for years as I was growing up and I also make it. Here is what we do: Use bone-in chicken, cut up, salt and set aside. Add canola oil to dutch oven. Heat, add chopped onion and cover the top of the onions with hot Hungarian papkria til onions are soft. Add chicken. Add 1/2 to 1 c. water. Cover til chicken is cooked. Remove chicken to platter, keep warm. Mix flour into sour cream. Gently add to liquid in pot, stirring til thickened. Do not boil. Add chicken back into pot. Forget the pasta, noodles, rice and whatever else these people are using! The only way to serve it is with hlousky which is a drop dumpling made with flour, salt, egg and milk. Mix til thick. Flick bits into boiling water, drain, keep hot. Serve chicken with gravy over the hlousky. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Tasted really good. I've made it without the sour cream, also, and I think it was actually better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Well, I was excited about this dish. I bought Hungarian Paprika specifically to use with it. It was only OK. It may have seemed better if my husband hadn't picked at it and didn't even try it because he didn't think he'd like it. Ah...well...another try, another fail... If it was a bit better, I might make it again even though my husband will pick at it - but it wasn't that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairborn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This is a very authentic-tasting recipe. I used boneless skinless chicken because that is what I prefer. I used Hungarian Sweet paprika, which I think is a must for that authentic taste and aroma. I also easily doubled the sauce, because we like having lots of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I used boneless skinless because it's what I had on hand. I reduced the simmer time to 20 min to keep the meat from drying out. I served it over egg noodles. Everyone loved it! I look forward to using bone-in chicken for an even better flavor, as pointed out by one of the other reviews. This is a surprisingly simple dish to make, yet is quite impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I'm not Hungarian (Italian actually) so I never had a Paprikash recipe. So when I thought I'd wow my friends with a neat dinner, I used this recipe and it turned out fabulous! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States