Chicken Papadoris Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Love this recipe BUT if you follow this recipe exactly as it is written, it may be bland for some. What I did, prior to adding to the cornstarch mixture is, I seasoned it with more of the curry, cumin, parika and added a bit of red pepper to heat it up. What I love so much about this recipe is that it allows room to play with the seasonings. Some people don't want all the heat and spice and prefer the recipe as is so it's perfect. Others have a great base to work with and can play around with the flavor quite a bit. This is a versatile, easy and delicious meal for anyone, all you need to do is dip your spoon in, take a little taste and add whatever else you might need to make it perfect for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
This recipe sounded nice, but the method didn't seem correct to me (and how anyone could find it too hot/spicy with just one tsp curry powder for 8 people astounds me !). To release flavor, spices need to be fried for a couple of minutes, so when onion/garlic were soft I added spices and fried for 2 minutes before adding remaining ingredients. I only made this for 2 people, but still used recommended amount of spices, but 1 Tbs soy-sauce (for 8 I would at least triple the spices). By using coconut cream instead of milk (140ml can for 2 people) there was no need to add water/cornstarch. Will do again, but use more spice - may also be good using cashews instead of pine-nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This recipe was delicious!!! I've tried several recipes from Allrecipes but never felt compelled to write a review before. This was a very simple dish with easy to get ingredients and tasted great. Very creamy with a wonderful blend of spices. I added about a 1/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes for a little heat. Will definitely add this to my list of favorite dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
After reading reviews,I added 1/4 tsp. of ground cayenne and 1/2 tsp more curry, 1/2 tsp onion powder,a few sliced fresh mushrooms, cut the onion into thick slivers instead of chopping, used low sodium soy, added 1 tsp. chicken boullion and used 1/4 cup chicken broth instead of the water. I omitted the cornstarch as I don't need the extra carbs or care if it was thickened (that would also make it bland-er). Also, added brocolli tops the last few minutes for a quick low-carb meal. It was VERY GOOD. Fried rice would of been wonderful with some of the sauce but we are eating only the healthier carbs. Will definitely make again with the changes and will add more vegetables (matchstick carrots, bok- choy, snow peas etc.) when we are using more carbs. Thank you William, my Thai restaurant's not going to see me or my $ as often (when I can make this quick and easy at home)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
As many times as I have made this, I can't believe I haven't written to say how much I like this recipe. Everyone says how good it is. Thanks for a great recipe to serve to family and company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Very good! I like that is wasn't hot or too spicy, and it still had a lot of flavor. I loved the pine nuts. I used a red onion and light coconut milk and cut 2 chicken breasts in half instead of bite-sized pieces. I found it thick enough without the cornstarch; I just let it simmer a few extra minutes while I waited for everything else to cook. Served with brown rice and steamed fresh asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I never do this. What is that you ask? I never change a recipe until I've made it at least once. BUT, after realizing once I started that I didn't have all the ingrediants I needed (cornstarch, curry (I KNOW!) and cumin) I tried red curry. After I read what was actually in this red curry blend (coriander, cumin, chili pepper, red pepper and cardomom) at least the McCormicks brand, I thought I might be ok. The cornstarch would have added a nice thickening to it, but I was ok, I just added about 1/4 cup whipping cream. Let me tell you ... this was DELISH! AND, my husband, who doesn't like coconut was ready to gobble this dish up. Please make sure to read what other reviewers have to say, there were a lot of helpful tips, more then most reviews that I've read in other recipes. Thank you William for a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I FIXED THIS RECEIPE FOR A SUNDAY DINNER AND BOTH MY HUSBAND AND I FOUND THIS TO BE SO BLAND IT WAS ALMOST TASTELESS. I FOLLOWED THE DIRECTIONS EXACTLY. I WILL NOT MAKE THIS AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardena, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
This recipe was awesome. Even my husand who doesn't like coconut loved it! It was very great! We used low fat coconut milk and omitted the nuts to make it low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELKEHINZE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
Very, very delicious. I omitted the onions (because I hate them), and the pine nuts (because I didn't have any). I bet it would have tasted even better with the nuts. I did wish it were a bit sweeter, but I loved it. Easy to cook, and fast. Maybe next time I'll try adding reall coconut. Hmmmmmm. I wonder what that would taste like...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States